How to draw a site plan

BobbyJonesNCSU

I've never used AutoCAD before but I'm trying to make a site plan. I attached a picture of the property I'm trying to make a site plan of. Basically, it's a building that 59' by 92' that has a fenced in yard that is roughly a rectangle. I'd like to fit the site plan on regular 8.5"x11" sheet of paper. I know how to draw lines but don't know how to make them the right lengths. It doesn't need to be perfect with angles but I'd like to make it look nice with like a border and titles and such. I've been trying to read up on how to do it but I just get overwhelmed. Thank you so much in advance! Your help is greatly appreciated!

photo.jpg

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• JD Mather

• BobbyJonesNCSU

• ReMark

• rkent

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I'd like to fit the site plan on regular 8.5"x11" sheet of paper. I know how to draw lines but don't know how to make them the right lengths.

Draw it 1:1 - make the lines the same length they are in the real world.

Then come back and ask how to make it fit on a A-Size sheet.

Hmmm, someone else just asked the same question (or very similar) a week or so ago, but now I can't find the thread.

Is this a school assignment?

Do you want the surveyor's bearings or just a simple ortho size layout?

If the former you might want to become familiar with Units.

If the later then I would simply draw one rectangle for the building and one for the lot explode the lot rectangle and offset the right line towards the left and trim at top for the correct corner at the top left of lot. (I think you are missing one dimension - how far along the building does one of those two vertical lot lines start?)

Doesn't need to be perfect.

I would make it as perfect as the given information allows.

Search here for modelspace and paperspace and templates for instructions on how to create a layout border.