+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default Dimensions on print not aligned with model/object. All is well on screen

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Working in AutoCAD 2010...
    Recently I've started to notice that the dimensions on my print are not exactly aligned with the model/object. Only the dimensions seem to be shifted slightly in two directions (~1mm?). On screen, everything looks great.

    Typically, I design 3d parts (model tab), then in the layout tab set up viewports (mview), and dimension in paper space...

    Is there some paperspace offset I may have inadvertently invoked?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Are you in UCS WORLD?
    Are you using Associative dimensions?
    Is your 3D model displaying in PERSPECTIVE, as opposed to Parallel?

    PERSPECTIVE = 0 at the commandline?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Can you post a sample file that exibits this behavior?
    (only need a cube or something simple)
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Thanks all - sorry for the slow reply, been out in the shop making chips fly...
    Here is a quick part I'm modifying this morning - 2 images. The first is a screenshot of the plot preview, the second is a scan of the print (printer is a modern HP Officejet 7500A). I also tacked on a screenshot of the Plot Options Box.

    Dadgad -
    UCS World - Yes, I dimension everything in the layout tab; paperspace
    Associative dimensions - DIMASSOC = 1 (I've never altered the default setting)
    PERSPECTIVE = 0 (read only)
    ** PERSPECTIVE only valid in Model Space **

    Screenshot prior to plotting:


    Scanned print - notice the dimensions are offset down/left:

    Plot Options:

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Actually, we were hoping for an actual DWG file not just the images. Much easier to troubleshoot a drawing than it is an image.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Actually, we were hoping for an actual DWG file not just the images. Much easier to troubleshoot a drawing than it is an image.
    Ahh, of course. .DWG Should be attached now.
    Thanks!
    Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. rhino file converted to dxf. model off screen, not aligned to x,y
    By lortech in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Jul 2010, 12:40 am
  2. Aligned Dimensions to Rotated ?
    By chavlji in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Oct 2009, 10:11 am
  3. Moving aligned dimensions
    By A393 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2009, 02:29 pm
  4. Aligned dimensions
    By cadmench in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2008, 07:41 pm
  5. Print screen?
    By Engineer_Adam^_^ in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Dec 2006, 10:30 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts