+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 140
  1. #11
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by fredericofrg View Post
    Can you recommend some tutorials to do the first exercise?
    Welcome to the forum.
    Anything is easy, once you know how to do it.

    Start here ..............
    http://www.we-r-here.com/cad/tutoria...ex.htm#tutlist
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  2. #12
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    41

    Default

    no.
    The professor give me one week more to do this homework.
    can you guys help me.

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    I'm having trouble understanding just what you hope to accomplish if you do not even understand the basics of AutoCAD. It seems, from your answers, you were either taught very little, or you did not pay much attention in class.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Exercise 1.1 Baseplate.

    Make sure you have ORTHOMODE enabled. Use your F8 key to toggle it.

    Prior to starting this exercise make a quick hand sketch of the baseplate and put the dimensions on it. You'll notice that you will have to calculate a couple of the dimensions based upon those that are already given. When you have all the dimensions of every side then you can draw the baseplate in AutoCAD.

    Note: We will be working our way around the baseplate in a clockwise manner.

    Start the LINE command. Pick anywhere in the middle of your screen when you are prompted "LINE Specify first point:" as this object, if I read the dimensions right, is not very big. Now drag your mouse to the right. Look at your command line. AutoCAD prompts "Specify next point or [Undo]:". I want you to type in the distance 2.0 then press ENTER. AutoCAD should draw the line. As AutoCAD continues to prompt you for the next point drag your mouse downward and type the distance 2.0 at the command line. Once again a line should be drawn on your screen. Now drag your mouse to the right and type 2.0 one more time. You should have three lines on your screen. You can continue with this same procedure (drag and type in the distance) until you work your way around to the next to the last line. When prompted for the last line sement you can just type the letter "C" for "Close" and AutoCAD will complete the baseplate.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    EXERCISE 1.1.PNG
    The order in which the lines should be drawn using the method I described previously. AutoCAD continues to prompt the user to "specify the next point" until the command is cancelled or the last response is "Close".

    Here is the sequence that is followed as taken from the AutoCAD Text window:

    Command: <Ortho on>

    Command: LINE Specify first point:
    Specify next point or [Undo]: 2.0 line 1

    Specify next point or [Undo]: 2.0 line 2

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: 2.0 line 3

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: 2.5 line 4

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: 3.0 line 5

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: .5 line 6

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: 2.5 line 7

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: 2.5 line 8

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: 1.5 line 9

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: c line 10 drawn by AutoCAD automatically
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    EXERCISE 1.2.PNG
    I have determined that Exercise 1.2 can be done in the same manner as 1.1 was. When you get to the end of line number 7 just type "C" for "Close" and AutoCAD will draw line number 8 for you. See below.

    Command: <Ortho on>

    Command: LINE

    Specify first point:

    Specify next point or [Undo]: .5 line 1

    Specify next point or [Undo]: .7 line 2

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: 1.6 line 3

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: .7 line 4

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: .9 line 5

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: .6 line 6

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: 1.2 line 7

    Specify next point or [Close/Undo]: C "C" for Close

    You should now have two exercises done.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Where in the United States are you located?

    I would recommend that you skip Exercise 1.3 for the moment and move on to Exercise 1.4. You can go back to 1.3 later.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Explanation of AutoCAD Function Keys (F1 through F11) at the top of your keyboard.
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

    F1 - Opens the AutoCAD HELP file

    F2 - Opens the AutoCAD TEXT window in the drawing area

    F3 - Turns running snaps (OSnaps) on and off

    F4 - Turns 3D OSNAP on and off

    F5 - Cycles through the Isoplane Top, Isoplane Right and Isoplane Left crosshairs positions (isometric drawings)

    F6 - Allow/disallow Dynamic UCS

    F7 - Turns the GRID on and off

    F8 - Turns ORTHO mode on and off

    F9 - Turns SNAP on and off

    F10 - Turns POLAR TRACKING on and off

    F11 - Turns OBJECT SNAP TRACKING on and off

    F12 - Dynamic Input
    Last edited by ReMark; 10th Sep 2012 at 12:28 pm. Reason: revised two entries
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    AutoCAD Task Bar Icons.PNG
    Buttons on the Task Bar (lower left-hand corner of your screen).

    From left to right they are...

    Infer Constraints

    Snap Mode (F9)

    Grid Display (F7)

    Ortho Mode (F8 )

    Polar Tracking (F10)

    Object Snap (F3)

    3D Object Snap (F4)

    Object Snap Tracking (F11)

    Allow/Disallow Dynamic UCS (F6)

    Dynamic Input (F12)

    Show/Hide Lineweight

    Show/Hide Transparency

    Quick Properties

    Selection Cycling

    In the far left hand corner is where your coordinates are displayed.

    Note the tabs above the Command line. There is always one for MODEL space and two (the default) for paper space LAYOUTS. We draw our objects in model space at FULL size. We do not scale objects in model space like we would if we were drawing them on a drafting board. No matter how big or small the item is draw it FULL size.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #20
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Layer Property Manager.jpg
    The Layer Properties Manager. This is where you create all your layers and define their properties. The default AutoCAD template, acad.dwt, opens when you start a new drawing. There is only one defined layer (Layer "0" - color: white) in this template. You can create a custom template file with all your layers predefined. It is a real time saver.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. 2013 Problems???
    By idllc in forum MEP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th Aug 2012, 04:58 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Aug 2012, 08:40 pm
  3. my drawing is not fitting onto my paper space please help??? begginer
    By antons99 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2011, 03:10 am
  4. 3D Begginer
    By Sylvia Dant in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th May 2006, 10:30 pm
  5. begginer
    By rotrek007 in forum Catch All
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Nov 2005, 03:05 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts