+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 140
  1. #21
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    AutoCAD Ribbon 2D.jpg
    The "Ribbon" is found at the top of your screen. It has several tabs with different panels on each tab. This version is for 2D Drafting. There is a different one for 3D Modelling. Above the Ribbon I have elected to show the Menu Bar which has drop-down menus under each heading. In the upper left hand corner is the Quick Access Toolbar (QAT). All these elements can be customized by the user to suit his or her own needs and work style.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    EXERCISE 1.4.jpg
    Exercise 1.4 done using the LINE, CIRCLE and OFFSET commands found on the Ribbon.
    The basic shape of the filter plate can be constructed in the same manner as the objects in the first two exercises (drag a line and type a distance).

    Ribbon Line and Offset Commands.PNG
    This is where you find the commands.

    Why OFFSET? Despite the fact there are probably two or three other, probably faster ways of doing this, I think you are lacking in your knowledge of even the most basic commands let alone more advanced techniques. Maybe someone will be kind enough to create a video for you demonstrating another way of accomplishing the task using Polar Tracking and Object Snap Tracking.

    See post #32 for an explanation of the OFFSET command. It includes an image as well as a sample drawing file to use to practice the technique I have described.
    Last edited by ReMark; 11th Sep 2012 at 01:48 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    EXERCISE 1.5.jpg
    Exercise 1.5 can be done similar to 1.4 in terms of the linework and one of the two circles. For the second circle (on the right) I would use the MIRROR command and pick the Midpoint of the top line. This means however you will either have to key in the letters MID when asked for a base point in the MIRROR command or pick it if you have your OSNAPS set up with Midpoint enabled.

    Common OSnaps most users enable are Endpoint, Midpoint, Center, Quadrant, Intersection, Perpendicular, and Parallel.

    So for this exercise use the LINE, OFFSET, CIRCLE and MIRROR commands and you should do just fine.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #24
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    OSNAP Settings.PNG
    What the OSnaps "Settings" dialog box looks like. You can activate it by right-clicking on the Object Snap button in your Task Bar or by typing OSNAP at the command line then pressing ENTER.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    EXERCISE 1.6.PNG
    Exercise 1.6 is an easy one. Drag the line enter the distance and use the "Close" option to finish it off where the diagonal line is. Shouldn't take you more than 30 seconds. All you need is ORTHO mode turned on and the LINE command.

    Start where indicated and proceed in a clockwise direction.

    Skip Exercise 1.9 and go directly to 1.11; we'll come back to 1.9 later.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #26
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    EXERCISE 1.11a.PNG
    Exercise 1.11 is going to require that you enable and make use of the Quadrant OSnap. You can actually calculate the length of lines needed on each side to connect the two end circles saving you the time to Trim or Fillet (with a radius of "0").

    EXERCISE 1.11b.PNG
    I believe the diagram gives the wrong radii for the inner/outer large curves (or "fillets"). Use the FILLET command to create them.

    You'll need to use the COPY command. Just make sure ORTHO mode remains toggled as you copy the circle 2.5 units to the left which can be entered at the command line.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #27
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Exercise 1.9 (Dorm Room) requires the user to utilize both SNAP and GRID. The extents of the room is defined by the coordinates in the lower left and upper right hand corners of the room. The GRID is set at 0.25 increments so to calculate furniture size and placement you will have to use your math skills. For example, the bed is 10 units by 5 units (10*0.25 and 5*0.25).

    Exercise 1.3 will be a little trickier. You will first have to change the UNITS you are working in from DECIMAL to ARCHITECTURAL via the UNITS command. You will have to also set the PRECISION to 0'-0". From the note below the diagram I am assuming the student is to use Polar Tracking to draw the property line boundary.

    When you finish all the other exercises we can tackle these two problems. But until then you have some work to do. I would like you to post an image of each completed exercise and don't be surprised if I ask for a copy of your drawing file at some point too. Be prepared. Good luck with your assignment.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #28
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Thanks ReMark for your help. (you were either taught very little, or you did not pay much attention in class.)
    Just i think don't understand the class because i just learn basic english for 5 months before move to US.
    Can i ask you one thing?

    If yes in the start to the exercise 1.1 Baseplate i need use the command LINE and i need put the first line size? example 2.50 or i need specify one point to the line start and after this where i can put the first and second line size?

    Thanks so much, i just start right now,again ^^ but now i know more things.

  9. #29
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    ReMark has given you the commandline input.
    He tells you EXACTLY what to do in POST #14.
    Read the entire post, make the hand sketch before you start drawing
    the lines with the program.

    MAKE SURE YOUR ORTHO IS TURNED ON before you start, just like ReMark says.
    After starting the LINE command and indicating a starting point for it,
    you will indicate the direction in which you would like the line to go by moving your mouse in that direction,
    then you will enter the number (length of the line), and hit ENTER (not TAB). Your first line is now drawn,
    FOLLOW THE COMMANDLINE PROMPTS, for the next line you do not need to restart the LINE command because it is still running.
    Just move your mouse in the direction which you want the next line to go, enter the length of the next line, and hit ENTER again.

    It is hitting the ENTER button which tells the program to go ahead and create the line which you have just defined.
    You will do it after every distance (length) entry, before indicating the information for the next line.
    To complete the last line in the drawing (of a closed shape) you may use the CLOSE option, for which you just enter C at the commandline, then ENTER.
    Last edited by Dadgad; 11th Sep 2012 at 04:48 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  10. #30
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Where in the United States are you located?

    I would recommend that you skip Exercise 1.3 for the moment and move on to Exercise 1.4. You can go back to 1.3 later.
    Bemidji-Minnesota just for 1 year.
    After this i just move to Orlando,FL and start my real major is Visual Effects & Motion Graphics.

Similar Threads

  1. 2013 Problems???
    By idllc in forum MEP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th Aug 2012, 04:58 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Aug 2012, 08:40 pm
  3. my drawing is not fitting onto my paper space please help??? begginer
    By antons99 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2011, 03:10 am
  4. 3D Begginer
    By Sylvia Dant in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th May 2006, 10:30 pm
  5. begginer
    By rotrek007 in forum Catch All
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Nov 2005, 03:05 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts