+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 60
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default Penn Foster Civil Drafting project plate 3 and 4

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello, I am working on the same civil drafting project from Penn Foster that I have read through some of these threads. I have completely finished plate 2 and my instructor informed me that everything was correct. For plates 3 and 4, I have already created my grids according to the instructions given.

    I am having difficulties projecting my graph lines ( the existing and new elevations )

    Any help would greatly be appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Everywhere your cut line crosses an existing and/or proposed contour or spot elevation plot the points on your grid.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks for the response. Are they supposed to be projected or plotted on the grid? Meaning, After my grid is completed, I need to scale it up to match my plate 2 drawing, right? And then project the points like you indicated. What happens where the driveway starts to curve?

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Treat the curve like a straight line. You have a point of curvature and a point of tangency and both are stationed so you know can calculate the distance.

    I believe the instructions are to create the grid and plot the points but I'd have to look to verify. BTW....I did not take the course. I'm just filling in for someone who did.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default

    The instructions do indicate "when plotting the drawing". I have my grid set up starting 0+00, 0+50, 1+00, and so on until 4+00. If I treat my centerline as a straight line, then I can definitely calculate and plot where everything is supposed to go ( start, curb, row, pc, pt and end) and I can calculate where the existing contours cross the centerline. I assume that existing contours will appear as a slop on my grid, and stationing will just be vertical lines on my grid with a label at the top?

    I am still not understanding how I would plot the new contour lines?

    I appreciate all the help!

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    I think the driveway is level isn't it at an elevation of 180 from end to end.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default

    The original contours go from 180 down to 130. At the beginning and end of driveway is 180, then moving towards the center of the center of the driveway, each end goes down to 170, 160, and down to 130 near the middle of the driveway.

    The new elevation is to be 180 with angle of repose 1.5:1

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    In essence you have two centerline profiles. One for the existing contours and one for the new contours. Where the new profile is higher than the old profile that area will have to be filled in with soil. Where the new profile is lower than the old profile that area will have to have soil removed. Cut and fill. Got it? And don't forget the drainage pipe. It has to be shown as well. The invert of the pipe is somewhere around the 130 elevation I believe which is well below the grade of the new driveway.
    Last edited by ReMark; 31st Dec 2012 at 12:51 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Could you look at this drawing to see if I am on the right track? There is no cut...only fill.
    Attached Files

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I assumed you were working on the centerline profile for the driveway. You're not; you're working on a cross-section. A slightly different animal.

    The driveway doesn't reach elevation 185 at the turnaround?

    BTW....your tree symbols would be fine if the trees were meant to be shown in elevation but they are being shown in a plan view. Not too many trees have that shape (like an arrow) unless a hurricane knocked them over.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Need help for penn foster civil drafting project
    By HARPAL in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 10th Jun 2016, 12:09 am
  2. penn foster civil plate 1
    By jcoots17 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2012, 11:17 am
  3. Penn Foster-Structural Project, Plate 2
    By Rocktamusprime in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 25th May 2012, 03:32 pm
  4. Help on Penn Foster Civil Drafting
    By tck_17 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th May 2012, 09:14 pm
  5. Structural drafting project Plate 2 (penn foster)
    By ANC2008 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2011, 11:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts