+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default 2d DXF file converted to a format for my cnc

    i have a 2d dxf file (attached) that i need to somehow convert into a 3d file with a material thickness of .75 inches (a peice of wood) so that the cnc can cut it it keeps giving me an error of no thickness in the machine, i dont know what to do, can somebody help me?
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    216

    Default

    You need to 'Region' all the profiles and 'subtract' out the 'regioned' holes and then you will be able to extrude the 0.75" length and then save as a dxf again.

    Hope this helps

  3. #3
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,292

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    'Region' 'subtract' extrude.
    That sounds like a 4 letter word to me - "work".
    Get lazy. Presspull
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    iainlines's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I make boxes n stuff!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smack bang in the middle of England
    Posts
    262

    Default

    Is this a cnc router I assume as you're machining wood? Can you not set your material thickness i your cad/cam software and then assign a depth of cut to each piece of 2D geometry?
    But then I am assuming you're either profiling or cutting at a flat bottomed depth

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    iainlines's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I make boxes n stuff!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smack bang in the middle of England
    Posts
    262

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is your cad/cam anthing like this?
    Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. rhino file converted to dxf. model off screen, not aligned to x,y
    By lortech in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Jul 2010, 12:40 am
  2. Error while opening a DXF file converted from PDF
    By saadicarnot in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2009, 11:24 am
  3. Text converted to graphics when file is plotted to PDF
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2006, 03:03 am
  4. File Format Help EPS - STP
    By TiSwAs in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2004, 09:02 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts