+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default 2D circle jagged lines, 3D model " hidden" jagged lines. How do i get smooth lines?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    Re: 2D circle jagged lines, 3D model hidden jagged lines. How do i get smooth lines?

    How do i get rid of jagged lines?

    Circles and diagonal lines look rubbish when i am in hidden view which i use for simple 3d black / white (i think this is the best way?).

    I have tried:

    - viewres (1000, 5000, 10000, 20000 sightly better)
    - regen

    does anyone have any suggestions i can try?

    See examples.

    square with jagged lines.fw.pngcircle with fuzzy outline.fw.png

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    Did you try FACETRES?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thank you,

    I have just tried FACETRES (10), it is slightly better, but still not crisp enough. Is it possible to get really crisp sharp lines in autocad that run diagonal? (in 3D view).

    I am in hidden view and would also like to get rid of the darker lines so they are all the same line weight.

    fuzzy lines.fw.png

  4. #4
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,528

    Default

    Monitor resolution?
    You can solprof, flatshot or viewbase and change the line weight to whatever you like.
    Is this for print or for screen capture?
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    Try setting VSEDGES to "0". What happens?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thank you for your replies,

    I have tried your suggestions and my results are looking ok. I am able to capture from screen and paste into fireworks.

    Diagonal lines not as perfect as I wanted though.

    Let me know if you are able to produce a 3d cube with perfect looking diagonal lines. Post me an image.

    Many thanks.

    richard.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,528

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by richarda2012 View Post
    Thank you for your replies,
    I am able to capture from screen and paste into fireworks...
    I would output to an image file and use that rather than screen capture if best possible resolution is desired.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  8. #8
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,080

    Default

    Here is what I got...

    Drawing1 Model (1).jpg

    Set facetres to 3
    and set displish to 1
    I printed to a PDF and in the Print dialog box I set my Shade Plot to legacy hidden. I opened the PDF and then saved it as a jpg. I also changed to perspective from parallel but that does not affect this smoothness of the plot.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    A big thank you to everyone. I am now able to produce great looking drawings with a smooth output.

    Best regards,

    Richard.

Similar Threads

  1. Ortho Plot Lines Slightly Jagged
    By gsksun4 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2012, 12:27 pm
  2. Jagged, or "stepped" appearance of diaginal lines
    By IanN in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Jul 2012, 11:34 pm
  3. Circles/arcs turning into straight/jagged lines
    By mccarthyk54751 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10th May 2010, 07:28 pm
  4. Another "jagged lines" thread
    By Void in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2009, 05:01 pm
  5. jagged lines in metafiles
    By jjjgirling in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Nov 2005, 04:37 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts