AutoCAD Lisp Help: Attribute Extraction into Excel BOM

ml3428

I was able to find this Lisp Routine "ATTOUT" forexctracting attributes into an Excel document. I currently have blocks createdthat contain 4 different attribute values. These attributes are exctracted in creating B.O.M's to automate Mfg. processes in conveyor equipment construction.In devloping the B.O.M a specific format is required by the company I work for.Currenntly the Lisp routine does not extract the data in the format I wouldlike. I need this Lisp to "count"the number of blocks and output them into an excel table that follows the format

"Qty" "Part #" "Descripition" (See BOM Tab of attached DWG).

Model space contains a sampleof some of the blocks that are being used. I have very little experience writing Lisp, and in order to modify the codewould be beyond my abilities. Any helpthat can be provided would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You

LayoutExample.dwg

ATTOUT.LSP

block counter seems is close to what i need; but is there a way to extract the attributes in the block also? It seems that only the block name is being exctracted. Is this correct?

block counter seems is close to what i need; but is there a way to extract the attributes in the block also? It seems that only the block name is being exctracted. Is this correct?

Correct, my existing block counter program will only count blocks by name, since two block references of the same name may (and most probably will) contain different attribute values. However, given the criteria by which you wish to count and differentiate between your block references, I would be more than happy to construct a custom program to meet your exact requirements - feel free to contact me if you are interested and we can discuss the project further.

Look into the DATAEXTRACTION command. I ran it against your example DWG and got different results from your BOM, but it may get you closer with some fiddling.layoutexample.jpg