Need help joining a 3D helix

Buzza

Hey all,

I'm new here but have been reading the forums for a few months looking for help, I usualy find what I'm after but this time I'm stuck :(.

I'm trying to join a helix onto a 90 degree bend but I can't get the 2 ends to marry up.

I am self taught so I don't know all the commands but I understand the concept from using Maya / 3Ds Max in the past.

Also why do I see the diagonal lines at the end of the 90 degree?

Ihelix.jpg

Try using the 3DALIGN command.

Note: Did not work in this particular drawing.

Edited by ReMark
added the obvious

1. Click Home tab > ac.menuaro.gif Modify panel > ac.menuaro.gif 3D Align.
  2. GUID-78A20D48-F3E5-4388-A064-F0DA4630D7EF-low.pngSelect the objects that you want to align.
  3. Specify either one, two, or three source points and then the corresponding first, second, or third destination points. The first point is called the base point. The selected objects are moved from the source point to the destination point, and second and third points, if you specify them, rotate, and tilt the selected objects.

Source: AutoCAD HELP files.

Thanks for the welcome / replies so far.

Here is the file.

Going to have a look at the 3d align command now.

I have done the coil in 5 seperate pieces, is this the best way?

Coil2.dwg

Edited by Buzza

I recommed learing the UCS - ZA - O options to create stuff lined up if you do a lot of this type of work.

In my experience, few understand the ZA option of UCS

UCS ZA.png

I recommed learing the UCS - ZA - O options to create stuff lined up if you do a lot of this type of work.

In my experience, few understand the ZA option of UCS

[ATTACH=CONFIG]37895[/ATTACH]

Good point and solution JD, better than 3DALIGN in a case like this. :beer:

If the OP were successful in lining things up the two vertical sections would be at a slight angle rather than straight up and down.

Another good point, that the bend should not actually be a right angle,