+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Pipe fittings

  1. #1
    Junior Member Niz's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    16

    Default Pipe fittings

    Hello !
    I am civil engineering student (Hydrology, Water Resources, and Environmental Fluid Mechanics)
    I am using AutoCAD 2004
    I was wondering if anyone knows , how do you insert in AutoCAD pipe fittings (from tool palettes) seperately
    bcs it is made as block
    so do i have to every time break it with explode?
    and also how to make different dimensions for these fittings...

    i was also trying to find not only symbols for pipe fitting but 2 dimension drawing of them...and seems i have to draw them manualy...though i believe they are somewhere there for i saw some exampeles drawn in AutoCAD with them...i wish i can attach you to see what i mean
    anyway hope you will get my point

    thanx in advance

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    8GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    In a nutshell, I create 3D models from the client's CAD files or design sketches which I then use to produce high quality rendered images. Click on the link in my signature to view my portfolio. I'm always looking for work, so let me know if you need any custom models or renders. :)
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,016

    Default

    If you want your blocks to insert exploded when you drag them from the tool palette, you have to edit the blocks properties. Right click on one of the pipe fitting blocks in your tool palette and select properties. This will open a new window holding all of the blocks properties. There should be an option for Explode and it will be set to No. Change this to Yes and your block will insert exploded by default. You will have to do this for each of your blocks.

    For dimensions, I suggest you read up on dimstyles from the help menu to get started. Type DIMSTYLE at the c-prompt to open the dimension style manager. This is where you create dimension styles.
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) --->
    http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Why do you want to explode the block of the fitttings? I do a lot of piping drawings and having the fitttings as blocks saves a lot of time, not to mention fize size. Is there something about the blocks you are inserting that you do not like?
    What kind of fitting do you need drawings of?
    How do you want to dimension the fittings? They should mostly be standard parts, and a detailed dimension of the part would not be reqired in the working world, simply stating the size and rating should do it, as the dimensions are likely covered by and ASTM Standard/
    Thalon

  4. #4
    Full Member Benson's Avatar
    Using
    Architectural DT 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    44

    Default 3D Pipe Fittings-AutoCAD

    Perhaps they are attaching their data in a different way other than attributes (ie Databaseconnect manager). Some people prefer to keep their data in a spreadsheet or database as it is easier to edit. It also makes it possible to link the fittings to a price database. This means that you can have a live cost estimation of your project on your screen as you work.

    Do a google search for "autoCAD VBA-Integrating with Microsoft Excel" for an easy to follow tutorial by Dave Aguilar
    ---------------------------------------
    CAD Resource Site
    http://www.herculedesign.com/
    ---------------------------------------

  5. #5
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    I don't do pipe work often, but...every now and then we have to detail pipe work for things like water reservoirs, sewer pump stations etc.

    I have never been able to find a library of pipe fittings (blocks).

    Could anyone tell me how I could get my hands on such a library, preferably to Australian standards.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    18

    Default

    For FREE comprehensive mechanical parts library for AutoCAD 2004-2006 and Inventor you may pls goto

    http://www.ohyeahcad.com/download/index.php

    & download "PartsNow 4.1.1 for AutoCAD 2002-2006 and Inventor 6-9."

    http://cad.thomasnet.com/ is another great source of free AutoCad Blocks & Mechanical Hardware.

    Hope this helps.

    I wonder if anyone from this great forum is from Oil & Gas/Petrochem industry..everyone seems to be from Architectural background & i kinda feel i'm in minority ...lol
    Rainbow

  7. #7
    Full Member Benson's Avatar
    Using
    Architectural DT 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    44

    Default 3D AutoCAD Pipe Fittings

    Or try the following for a library of 3D Pipe Fittings:
    http://www.herculedesign.com/3D%20Au...%20Library.htm
    There are over 930 of the most popular fittings drawn in the current release.
    ---------------------------------------
    CAD Resource Site
    http://www.herculedesign.com/
    ---------------------------------------

  8. #8
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for the advice all.....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts