+ Reply to Thread
Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9
Results 81 to 86 of 86
  1. #81
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by aglaerum View Post
    This is why this tread is too long...
    yes, I should have stayed out of this one - I have never ever used Nearest osnap and have no idea when or how it should be used and what the logical behavior is...
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  2. #82
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    The "Nearest" osnap setting works best when designing solar systems. One can draw a line to the nearest star.

    It is also handy when creating genealogy charts for connecting to your nearest relative.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #83
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aglaerum View Post
    This is why this tread is too long...
    The thread is too long, because you have not responded to questions or information.

    It took 30 posts before you posted a drawing.

    You NEVER responded to the FACETRES=10 setting I suggested.

    You have proceeded with an "AutoCAD is flawed" and an "everyone here has no clue" attitude.

    YOU have the AutoCAD problem, the VOLUNTEER members of this forum are trying to help YOU.

    I took your drawing and did a NEAREST SNAP no problem.

    Your 3D Cylinder is NOT perfectly straight, it shows a double line when viewed from TOP view. You appear to be snapping to one edge and measuring to the other.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #84
    Super Member PotGuy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    PotGuy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Premium
    Discipline
    Civil
    PotGuy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Temporary Works
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    (Trainee) CAD Techie/Draftsman
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    728

    Default

    Sorry for rezzing an old thread, but did anyone else notice the UCS in the first pic indicated a 3D view?

    It has the x,y,z axis visible. I wouldn't be surprised if SLW did, or everyone else near the end.
    This space changes a lot. Normally dependant on mood.
    Smilies are abundant in my posts.
    There's no crying in CAD but there sure is a lot of whining not to mention gnashing of teeth, pulling of hair and cursing - ReMark
    There is no crying in CAD. Only mouse slamming and keyboard smashing - RobDraw

  5. #85
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Rob pointed that out in post #10 and again in #15.

  6. #86
    Super Member PotGuy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    PotGuy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Premium
    Discipline
    Civil
    PotGuy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Temporary Works
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    (Trainee) CAD Techie/Draftsman
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    728

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So he did.
    This space changes a lot. Normally dependant on mood.
    Smilies are abundant in my posts.
    There's no crying in CAD but there sure is a lot of whining not to mention gnashing of teeth, pulling of hair and cursing - ReMark
    There is no crying in CAD. Only mouse slamming and keyboard smashing - RobDraw

Similar Threads

  1. Trim and Intersect inaccurate
    By Gavin Studd in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2012, 08:20 am
  2. Display Full Path in Title inaccurate - C3D 2011
    By Hardney in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th Oct 2010, 12:57 am
  3. Scale and Dimension inaccurate
    By j0ewhite in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th Jun 2009, 06:19 pm
  4. inaccurate line definition when trimming or extending
    By Patrick Clark in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Oct 2007, 01:40 am
  5. Inaccurate Limits in model space
    By Scott2Finish in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd Sep 2007, 11:25 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts