+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 13 of 13
  1. #11
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Welcome to the forum.
    If I am not mistaken, after you reset it, if you return to check you will find that it is still whatever dimensional system (Metric or Imperial) it was before you reset it.
    Which is why I strongly suggest the use of the -dwgunits command, with your commandline text window expanded.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  2. #12
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Welcome to the forum.
    If I am not mistaken, after you reset it, if you return to check you will find that it is still whatever dimensional system (Metric or Imperial) it was before you reset it.
    Which is why I strongly suggest the use of the -dwgunits command, with your commandline text window expanded.
    I would go with post #10.

    Dadgad - what do you mean when you write "if you return to check you will find that it is still whatever dimensional system it was before you resent it"?

    With nothing drawn in a drawing, going from imperial to metric is nothing more than using Units and picking decimal. Then when you draw, a unit is mm, cm or M, you pick one in your head and continue that way.

    Maybe I am missing something but that is how I do things without any issues.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #13
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Good point, I was mistakenly talking about the DEFAULT SCALE LIST, which is available in OPTIONS, as shown in the image. Should one try to change from Metric to Imperial here, it won't tell you that you can't, implying that you can, but when you use the RESET option the existing template based dimensional unit bias will be preserved.

    By way of curiosity, and with loads of respect ... bordering on awe, have you ever used the -dwgunits command?
    Attached Images
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Bring Paper Space object through Viewport into Model Space
    By karenreeves in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th Nov 2011, 08:58 pm
  2. Acad 2010 - Text size changes in model space behave as if in paper space.
    By Trickinitup in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2011, 03:44 am
  3. 2011 AutoCAD - Setting my LTSCALE in Paper Space as the same it is in Model Space
    By Rage221677 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Dec 2010, 07:31 pm
  4. AcadPViewport2 - Deleting items in model space that aren't seen inside paper space
    By lovemy65stang in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2009, 05:26 am
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2007, 10:20 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts