+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Derbyshire, U.K.
    Posts
    89

    Default Michael's Corner

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Reference the latest Michael's Corner (November).

    Michael says:
    Why back in the DOS days (that would be before wheel mice), you could launch the Zoom command, then enter .9X to reduce the display to 90% of the current view.
    Some of you may have noticed that AutoCAD 2013 doesn't allow you to do that trick anymore of going back and forth with your wheel mouse to accomplish this same subtle reduction in the view (right, Juul?).
    I am running AutoCAD 2013 and I don't have any problem with zooming with mouse wheel or using zoom command with .9X!

    Does anyone else have a problem zooming in 2013?

    regards,
    Thaumaturge

  2. #2
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    I can confirm that works for me, too. Is true that I don't have (yet) the service pack installed.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  3. #3
    Super Member irneb's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irneb's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    Antec One Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67-Pro P67
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16GB-1600MHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 430 (1GB)
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate1TB SATA2 - 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2333TN 23" 1920 x 1080 Full HD LCD Monitor2GW
    Discipline
    Architectural
    irneb's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician and Programmer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    I must say I've also not seen this particular issue. Neither in Vanilla 2013, nor ACA 2013. It might be a setting though, or perhaps some issue with graphics card?
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

  4. #4
    Junior Member MichaelEBeall's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MichaelEBeall's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Studio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Shelbyville, KY
    Posts
    10

    Default Zoom with a Wheel notch ...

    Thanks for these insights, folks. I may have needed a bit more explanation on that article. I'm using a Logitech wheel mouse - nothing special on the sides - and when I roll the wheel, there's a 'notch' feel to the action as you roll the wheel. I know there are mice that have a smooth roll on the wheel, so the article wouldn't apply there.

    That said, in A2012 and prior, when using a 'notched' action wheel mouse, rolling one notch back would zoom out slightly [ZOOMFACTOR setting notwithstanding], but then rolling one notch forward wouldn't go back to the exact display proportion, so your display was still zoomed out just a weeee bit. Repeating that 1-back-1-forward action on a notched wheel would result in a subtle zoom out.

    A customer using A2013 contacted me about this - who apparently had the same type action on her wheel mouse - which confirmed what I, too, had noticed in A2013, that the back and forth action mentioned above no longer resulted in the same subtle zoom out.

    Sooooo, I figured it would be a prime opportunity to resolve the issue with a button on the QAT using the always-functional Zoom/0.9X.

    Also, I just installed SP1.1 for A2013 and have found it still to be the case, where the notch-rock trick still isn't as pronounced as it is in previous versions.

    Hope that clarifies the situation, y'all, and thanks for bringing that to my attention, Tyke.

    -Michael
    Michael E. Beall

  5. #5
    Senior Member tomhamlet's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tomhamlet's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    DELL Desktop
    CPU:
    AMD phenom 2 (6 core)
    RAM:
    6gig
    Graphics:
    1 gig
    Primary Storage:
    1 tb
    Monitor:
    Dell widescreen
    Discipline
    See details...
    tomhamlet's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    mechanical engineer, draftsman
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    At Denios, we design storage and containment units for hazerdous materials. We also design cranes, racks, or whatever the customer needs.
    Using
    Mechanical 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    122

    Default

    I was wondering the same, thanks for the clarification Michael. I was not aware that you were from KY as well.
    Hard work beats talent every time talent doesn't work hard.

  6. #6
    Junior Member MichaelEBeall's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MichaelEBeall's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Studio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Shelbyville, KY
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hey Tom,

    Just tried to call your office, but the dial by name didn't work.
    As you probably know, I've been writing Michael's Corner for 10 years now, but have been woefully absent from the Forums.
    Thanks for the Friend request, too!

    -Michael
    Michael E. Beall

  7. #7
    Senior Member tomhamlet's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tomhamlet's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    DELL Desktop
    CPU:
    AMD phenom 2 (6 core)
    RAM:
    6gig
    Graphics:
    1 gig
    Primary Storage:
    1 tb
    Monitor:
    Dell widescreen
    Discipline
    See details...
    tomhamlet's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    mechanical engineer, draftsman
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    At Denios, we design storage and containment units for hazerdous materials. We also design cranes, racks, or whatever the customer needs.
    Using
    Mechanical 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Michael,

    I am not sure what number you have? However, my office email is thamlet@denios-us.com. I am glad to have another friend on CADTutor so close to my location. I read most monthly posts in your corner and have enjoyed learning all the tips you share. Thank you!
    Hard work beats talent every time talent doesn't work hard.

  8. #8
    Super Member irneb's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irneb's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    Antec One Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67-Pro P67
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16GB-1600MHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 430 (1GB)
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate1TB SATA2 - 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2333TN 23" 1920 x 1080 Full HD LCD Monitor2GW
    Discipline
    Architectural
    irneb's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician and Programmer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    OK I think I understand what you're referring to about the "notched" wheel. I've got a similar mouse at home (Razer Mamba). But I think you're missing the idea about thezoom-factor-change. It's not about the mouse notch, and it's not about the zoom factor either. It's because of the zoom factor being applied to the CURRENT display size.

    The same principal applies even if you use the .9x manual zooming. And BTW this works fine for me in ACA 2013 as well. E.g. type the following at the command prompt:
    Code:
    Command: Z ZOOM
    Specify corner of window, enter a scale factor (nX or nXP), or
    [All/Center/Dynamic/Extents/Previous/Scale/Window/Object] <real time>: .9x
    Command: Z ZOOM
    Specify corner of window, enter a scale factor (nX or nXP), or
    [All/Center/Dynamic/Extents/Previous/Scale/Window/Object] <real time>: 1.1x
    So this would be equivalent to having the Zoom Factor = 0.1 and turning the wheel one notch down, then one notch up. But the end result shows a slightly larger portion of the model. And it "should" due to the math:

    Say your current display size shows a width of 100 drawing units. After the .9x zoom, it's showing 100 / 0.9 = 111.11111 units. Now do a 1.1x zoom ... 111.11111 / 1.1 = 101.01010 units ... i.e. you don't get back to the original 100 units. If you want to return to an exact zoom size, and it's not something like extents / all, then use named views or Zoom Previous.
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

Similar Threads

  1. can you hide the help box in top right corner?
    By designerstuart in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th Aug 2011, 11:21 pm
  2. Searching Michael's Corner
    By ReMark in forum Feedback
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2009, 11:18 pm
  3. Michael's Corner
    By CADTutor in forum Feedback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2006, 03:45 pm
  4. Michael's Corner
    By CADTutor in forum News, Announcements & FAQ
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2005, 09:59 pm
  5. Michael's Corner
    By CADTutor in forum News, Announcements & FAQ
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2003, 06:39 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts