+ Reply to Thread
Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7
Results 61 to 67 of 67
  1. #61
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    DashaB's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision Work Station T7500
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU (E5620 @2.40 GHz, 4 cores)
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5800
    Monitor:
    (2) Dell P2212H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Annapolis, MD, USA
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No, we've been saving back to 2004 only because of the weird file size issues when saving to anything else. Saving back to 2000 blows up the file size to around 1gig every time haha. The copy and paste issue, I really don't know why it has been a problem lately. But i did the DXF thing on our working file, and tested it and the functionality remains and the copy and paste issue is solved, so that's my solution to the rest of the company. I think somewhere along the lines, something got messed up in the files, probably because of these baseplans. Something about the way 2013 saves or processes something, i guess?
    Oh well, it works now, that's all I'm worried about. I had nightmares all last night that i was trying to fix this...

  2. #62
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Well you should sleep like a baby tonight then.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #63
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Remark to the virtual rescue.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  4. #64
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    We are having a similar problem, which I have just posted in the General AutoCAD forum. Did you ever get an answer that worked?

  5. #65
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    DashaB's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision Work Station T7500
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU (E5620 @2.40 GHz, 4 cores)
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5800
    Monitor:
    (2) Dell P2212H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Annapolis, MD, USA
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ArchiTex View Post
    We are having a similar problem, which I have just posted in the General AutoCAD forum. Did you ever get an answer that worked?
    Currently our protocol for larger file sizes is to DFXOUT/IN on the file, twice. If you do it once it doesnt quite help all the way.

    So, first off, do a -purge (different from regular purge because it offers a bit more in the options). Type in R (for regapps), then enter, and N for no. This will remove registered applications and should not affect your content in any way. We've had drawings with over 100 of these suckers in there, and getting those out helps with the speed of the drawing.

    Then, in your working file that is a large size, type DXFOUT, save to a location of your choice. Close the file. In a blank file, type DXFIN and select the DXF file you just created. It helps at this point to run an audit, as for me it finds all sorts of errors in the file that it would not normally find. Saveas and overwrite your original drawing. Repeat procedure one more time.

    Not sure why you need to do it twice, but, for example, if my file is 8MB, one DXFOUT/IN reduces it to about 6 MB. The second takes it down to under 1MB.

    If you need further help on this topic, send me a PM and I can e-mail you the set of instructions I forwarded to my team here.

    Thanks!

  6. #66
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    27

    Default Autocad 2013 Increasing files sizes

    I had the same problem but by big drawings dxfout is not working. I found a oder way by deleting all AEC object by using this Lisp:

    Name of Lisp :removeAEC

    (defun gc:GetDictEntries (dict / result)
    (and (= (type dict) 'ENAME) (setq dict (entget dict)))
    (while
    (setq dict (vl-member-if (function (lambda (x) (= (car x) 3))) (cdr dict)))
    (setq result (cons (cons (cdar dict) (cdadr dict)) result))
    )
    (reverse result)
    )

    ;; delete all AEC*
    (defun c:removeAEC ()
    (foreach dict (gc:GetDictEntries (namedobjdict))
    (if (wcmatch (car dict) "*AEC*")
    (foreach entry (gc:GetDictEntries (cdr dict))
    (entdel (cdr entry))
    )
    (entdel (cdr dict))
    );fin if
    )
    (princ)
    );fin defun


  7. #67
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I know this post is a bit old, however, both topics discussed here (large file size and the inability to copy/paste) are symptoms of the same underlying issue, hidden DGN linestyles. You will want to make sure that every workstation is patched with Autodesk's DGN Hotfix which was released in August 2013.

    I've blogged about the cause of the issue as well as some ways to automate the process in my blog titled AUTOCAD LARGE FILE SIZE PROBLEM. If anyone has any additional questions, let me know.

Similar Threads

  1. New template file (dwt) opens in model space autocad 2013 !!!!
    By darren bagga in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st Jun 2012, 04:48 pm
  2. Purge & Save Increasing file size
    By CadiCad in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11th Dec 2008, 05:29 pm
  3. file size keep on increasing
    By shinymathew in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th Jun 2007, 04:54 am
  4. MORE help with file sizes and AEC
    By Teeds in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th May 2006, 11:21 am
  5. file sizes
    By ciaran in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Aug 2004, 12:50 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts