+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Full Member 19cruthik68's Avatar
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    19cruthik68's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draftsman
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Doha, Qatar
    Posts
    82

    Default measurement help

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No autocad installed on this unit, I reformat it, the reason why i made this simple question on jpeg file attached below through MS Paint.

    sample.jpg
    Assume that boxes are MANHOLES and it is a perfect square,
    from the centerpoint of manhole1 up to the centerpoint of manhole 5, I want to know the (exact or not totally exact) measurement/distance in just one click,.
    Other way than using dimlinear(DLI) and or dimalign(DAL). because if i will use DLI/DAL command, it will take more than 30 minutes to get the measurements of those. I mean for example the measurement that they want to know are very long with curves or with etc etc. so is there another way to compute the total measurements of this scenario?
    and so I did.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,576

    Default

    You can download a lisp routine like totlen.lsp, once loaded and started you pick each of the blue lines and hit enter.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Junior Member TigerByTheTail's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Eastern Kansas, USA
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Do the lines meet at the center if your manholes? Are you drawing in 1:1 in model space? I'm doing fiber optic cable routes. My cable lines break at each manhole. I can select any cable line and check the properties window for length.

Similar Threads

  1. how to know what unit of measurement I'm using?
    By 13tildawn in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2013, 03:18 am
  2. Scale and measurement
    By Johnny Henrick in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2011, 09:49 pm
  3. Productivity measurement
    By snowonwinterhills in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2011, 06:25 pm
  4. Angle Measurement
    By Dipali in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th Oct 2008, 01:14 pm
  5. Hatch Measurement
    By sendoor in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th Dec 2007, 04:57 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts