+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 50
  1. #21
    Senior Member Lee Roy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Roy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z400
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W 3565 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V5900
    Primary Storage:
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB - Sata III - SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Dual - HP Compaq LA2405wg
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Roy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD/BIM Manager
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Architectural, Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical...JOAT
    Using
    Mechanical 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I really really hate to sound mean, but the OP really needs to get his hands on a Revit book or some tutorials.

    I buy the "Official Training Guides". They help a LOT.
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...rds=revit+2013

    You're going to run into more and more issues until you learn the basics.
    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln
    I -edit- a lot, sorry.
    The rotary engine is the most efficient way of converting fuel to noise ever invented.
    If my post sounds offensive, but can be meant in a non-offensive manner...I meant the latter.

  2. #22
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    Good point Lee Roy and I'll back your comment. Obviously it isn't to be rude or mean, but just an honest suggestion to the OP. When you reach a snag, or need a better explanation, that's really what the message boards are truly for.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    Good point Lee Roy and I'll back your comment. Obviously it isn't to be rude or mean, but just an honest suggestion to the OP. When you reach a snag, or need a better explanation, that's really what the message boards are truly for.
    I do have books etc... It's seems alot more helpful ad easier to ask people in here for there ways of doing things

  4. #24
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    Yes it is most certainly easier. What's mostly good about asking people is the second opinions, as most importantly (to me anyways) is the approach that someone with experience takes.

    Please don't shy away and ask as much as you'd like. It is only fair that I answer as much as possible because the good Lord only knows how many novice questions I've asked here in the 6-7 years I've been active.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    Select the Transition, and in Properties adjust the "OffsetWidth" input.
    I tried that and it didnt work

    but now I have just realised. Do you have to have the family loaded in?

  6. #26
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nick-H- View Post
    I tried that and it didnt work

    but now I have just realised. Do you have to have the family loaded in?
    Yes, without the Families then you can't use the correct fitting. Just load all the Families under the Transitions folder and try each one to see if it fits your needs best in your duct layout.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    Yes, without the Families then you can't use the correct fitting. Just load all the Families under the Transitions folder and try each one to see if it fits your needs best in your duct layout.
    I will try that when I get home, ive more or less taken this job on now in my spare time.. hes give me 80 hours or so, to get 3 floors of vent and containment draw.. doesnt have to be accurate its just to look good for marketing.

    quite daunting gonna be some learning curve

  8. #28
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    It can be daunting. Best thing to do is when you open Revit, you need to completely forget everything you know about AutoCAD. It's then you will begin to pick up Revit much better.

    Good luck and hope it works out for you. Come back for any more issues you may have.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    It can be daunting. Best thing to do is when you open Revit, you need to completely forget everything you know about AutoCAD. It's then you will begin to pick up Revit much better.

    Good luck and hope it works out for you. Come back for any more issues you may have.
    Cheers and thanks for the help.

    no doubt I will have more questions later

  10. #30
    Forum Deity RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,750

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The offset functionality is built into the rectangular angled transition.

    Transition.jpg

    Use the method I described earlier to model it.
    I draft in Revit with a black background.

Similar Threads

  1. Linking 2D dwg files to revit mep 2011
    By watapatata in forum Revit General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2012, 01:35 pm
  2. Revit Model Linked into 3ds Max
    By MunichMax in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2011, 10:51 pm
  3. Link Revit model into current revit model
    By miyuki_mll in forum Revit General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2009, 11:58 am
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2009, 07:42 pm
  5. revit 2009 importing cad files
    By darris07 in forum Revit General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th Feb 2009, 10:23 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts