+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 13 of 13
  1. #11
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,883

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Just because both cards are made by nVidia doesn't mean they will co-exist peacefully.
    The days of multiple video cards coexisting in a single computer being problematic have definitely came a long way. I built a computer a few years back that had three video cards. A Quadro NVS (supported four displays), and two entry level fanless GeForce cards. He ran 7 displays without a problem (stock trader, his $15k program required four monitors as a minimum requirement). Granted, he wasn't trying to leverage these video cards for the brutal use of CAD design. I do wonder, however, how CAD applications will detect which card it needs. I wonder if it's manual or automatic. *shrugs*
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,722

    Default

    Put a second different card in the computer then report back here with the results. We're all curious. Then we'll have our answer either way. Good luck.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,296

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    With Windows 7 should be little to no problem. Many, on some of the computer hardware and gaming boards, recommend using the same series, some have reported conflicts with drivers on different series of same manufacturer, many have reported BETTER results with mixed Nvidia/ATI/Matrox, etc. (no driver interference).

    Seems in my readings, for Windows 7, "they play well together" is FAR more common than the "they don't get along", but I would test one before odering them all.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. Quadro vs Geforce in terms of AutoCAD performance?
    By jitindhillon in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2012, 06:37 pm
  2. Nvidia GeForce vs Quadro for various Autodesk programs
    By ctclothbagco in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2012, 12:54 pm
  3. Nvidia Geforce GTX 560 ti448 not supported???
    By mmmoriyama in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2012, 02:09 pm
  4. Geforce vs Quadro
    By guitarguy1685 in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2010, 11:54 am
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th Feb 2009, 04:57 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts