+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    49

    Default Version 2012 to version 2007: Got An Opener?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello Friendly Neighborhood AutoCAD Forum! I am a contractor draftsman, working from my home office and operating in AutoCAD 2007. I have an offsite client that just upgraded to Version 2012 (which I cannot afford to do at this time). Does AutoCAD have an attachment software of some sort that will allow me to open a drawing created in a later version of AutoCAD, work on that drawing and re-save it as a .dwg file? Boy, I sure hope so!

    Thanks! - Dave

  2. #2
    Super Member Tyke's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tyke's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 bit, W8 + W8.1 Vista
    Computer:
    HP Z400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB DDR3
    Primary Storage:
    2x 500GB HDD RAID 1 and Western Digital 2TB NAS RAID 1
    Secondary Storage:
    Lacie external HDD 2TB Raid Level 1
    Monitor:
    Samsung SyncMaster P2770HD, 2443 and 193T
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tyke's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor, programmer, civil engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Surveying and civil engineering. As built utilities surveys and data maintenance in GIS systems. Building surveys, measured and laser scanning. Setting out of all civil works. Control and settlement surveys. Programming in AutoCAD, MicroStation, Geograf and stand alone applications for all uses.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Saxony, Germany
    Posts
    1,290

    Default

    Check this link out, http://www.softpedia.com/get/Science...onverter.shtml or this one http://anydwg.com/autocad-converter.html
    it should do what you want. Try Google with something like "DWG Version Converter". There's quite a few out there.

    Good luck.
    Engage brain before mouth

    "The German who types with a Yorkshire accent" - Dave Broada 2o1o

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Thanks Tyke - I'll give them a try!

  4. #4
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    300Gb, 10K rpm
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,953

    Default

    DWG TrueView™

    "Use this FREE* download to accurately view, plot, and publish authentic DWG and DWF files.
    And now, DWG TrueView incorporates all the functionality of DWG TrueConvert. This means you
    can translate any AutoCAD or AutoCAD-based drawing file for compatibility with AutoCAD
    Release 14 through current release."


    http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...&siteID=123112

    The links seem to change all the time, so if that doesn't work go to
    www.autodesk.com, then pick Products, see all products, page down to DWG TrueView™.

    Registration required, but it is free.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    eyde's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Project Manager/ Regional CAD Manager
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    We manufacture concrete utility vaults
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Southern California but a true Texan
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Just have client save the dawing to 2007. No need for a converter

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    49

    Default

    That was my thinking, unfortunately having to perform that step "frustrates them".

  7. #7
    Super Member Tyke's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tyke's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 bit, W8 + W8.1 Vista
    Computer:
    HP Z400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB DDR3
    Primary Storage:
    2x 500GB HDD RAID 1 and Western Digital 2TB NAS RAID 1
    Secondary Storage:
    Lacie external HDD 2TB Raid Level 1
    Monitor:
    Samsung SyncMaster P2770HD, 2443 and 193T
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tyke's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor, programmer, civil engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Surveying and civil engineering. As built utilities surveys and data maintenance in GIS systems. Building surveys, measured and laser scanning. Setting out of all civil works. Control and settlement surveys. Programming in AutoCAD, MicroStation, Geograf and stand alone applications for all uses.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Saxony, Germany
    Posts
    1,290

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David Devitt View Post
    That was my thinking, unfortunately having to perform that step "frustrates them".
    Yup, and a frustrated client sometimes goes elsewhere. Keep the client happy and you keep the client. For a self employed contractor that is very important.

    Watch out for functionality in 2012 that is not in 2007. The converters will kill it and the drawing you send back might be missing some functionality. If it's a one off big job consider downloading the trial version of 2012 or 2013, that way you can preserve the functionality. But be aware it's a quantum jump from 2007 to 2012/2013 and it takes a bit of getting used to.
    Engage brain before mouth

    "The German who types with a Yorkshire accent" - Dave Broada 2o1o

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Yep, that was my second thought and I don't want to lose a client I've been working with for twelve years. I may consider the trial version eventually but since the drawings that I create for this client are actually quite simple, functionality may not be effected. We'll have to test things with a converter, see if that meets their needs and make our decision at that point. Thanks again for your help Tyke!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    3D Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,030

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David Devitt View Post
    That was my thinking, unfortunately having to perform that step "frustrates them".
    It's an extremely simple thing for the client to Save As 2007 format for you. Or, if they can't be bothered with saving out a separate file for you, they can configure their Etransmit settings to automatically save the file, and all associated files, to a zip with the CAD files saved to 2007 format. Then it's just a matter of hitting the Etransmit button and sending you the zip file. The fact that they won't do that would be a little irritating for me.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  10. #10
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,752

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    /devil's advocate

    Or, Autodesk can make AutoCAD like Revit and make backwards compatibility impossible. This way it keeps the market going forward.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 26th Nov 2012, 03:39 pm
  2. Updating misc CAD files/ info version to version
    By Mark KEC in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st May 2012, 01:54 pm
  3. Error occur when i change autocad version 2007 to 2012
    By mateen in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2011, 12:43 pm
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2010, 03:56 pm
  5. 2007 LT version
    By pennylove in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2007, 03:41 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts