How to create 3D?

Lalitp

Hi, I am new to autocad and robotics student..

I have 3D data in text file, obtained from MATLAB software.

3D data contains 3 columns x,y and z, and 15000 rows..

So, now i want to create 3D image from that data in Autocad, Can i create..?

If Autocad doesn't support text file than i can conver this data in Excel file also..

I have attached my text file here..

http://speedy.sh/4yHP7/3d.txt

That's not hard at all, but you should specify what AutoCAD do you intend to use for this job, and what output do you need?

If you use AutoCAD...LT, then you could use Excel to generate a script file. If a full AutoCAD is used, a Lisp routine could use the points as they are.

Also what result do you expect? If you wish AutoCAD to place a point at each set of coords, then you will get something like a cloud of points. Maybe you wish a polyline passing thru those points, in the order they appear in the file. Or maybe you need a 3D mesh, to get a surface?

I didn't download the file, I won't install any software just to see a text file. If you post again, please paste here the first few lines of the file.

Welcome in the forum!

I have 3D data is of Metal plate surface and i want to create same metal plate surface again in 3D.

From this points i will get mesh of points, so, it is ok,

then is there facility of smoothing is Autocad..?

I never used autocad beforee so, i even don't know about versions.. but once i came to know that all my expectatins will fulfiled in this software then i will continue it..

Its not the easiest thing to do in autocad but depends on the version. I use this add on: http://www.sycode.com/products/point_cloud_ac/index.htm But it is not cheap. There are others some even free. But then you might need to stitch the mesh and most versions of autocad no longer have stitch. Then you need to convert it to a solid and that is a completely different problem.

You should probably try inventor.

Welcome to CADTutor. :)