+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 32 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 313
  1. #11
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    haha, I was wondering if anyone would pick up on my StarWars quote!

    Thanks SO MUCH for all the detailed assistance! I'm at work right now, but I will be diving into all your instructions when I get home tonight. I'll be in touch!!!

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,453

    Default

    My response is thus: I'll be back.

    Where are you located? I ask because my time is somewhat limited in the evening due to my unusual work hours. I'm afraid I may not be of much assistance to you then.
    Last edited by ReMark; 5th Dec 2012 at 06:45 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,453

    Default

    The next four lines that go in represent the boundaries of the subdivision. The starting point for the first of the lines is the end of the POB line we drew previously.

    Make sure you are on the correct layer. You should be working on layer Boundary (color: cyan, linetype: phantom).

    Start the line command and pick the end of the POB line. Now leave your mouse alone and do the following.

    For the next point type @542.16<n39d16'46"e then press Enter.

    For the next point type @676.62<n87d28'25"w then press Enter.

    For the next point type @457.43<s2d31'35"w then press Enter.

    Finally, for the next point type the letter C for Close. The endpoint of this line should bring you back exactly to where you started.

    Note that the letter < d > is used to denote degrees, the symbol < ' > is used to denote minutes and the symbol < " > is used to denote seconds. Along with the designators for North, South, East and West these character/numbers make up our "bearing".

    If your phantom linetype looks more like the continuous linetype set your linetype scale to a value of 50. You can do this at the command line by typing LTSCALE then inputting the value followed by pressing the Enter key.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,453

    Default

    Oleson Village Boundary.PNG
    Oleson Village - Boundary.
    Work in a counter-clockwise direction from line 1 to line 4.

    Note: I made my POB line red to distinguish it from the boundary lines. It will remain in my drawing until such time as I no longer need it.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Wow, this is super cool to have you helping me!!!! I'm in Maryland, but I have plenty of time to work on this so we'll just sync up when you are available. You've given me plenty of "homework" already so I hope to make some progress on my own now without having to bug you in the evenings. I've been having major anxiety thinking I'm just going to have to give up on the Construction Technology degree I'm also working on a "real" degree at the National Labor College. The PF effort was just to get two years under my belt so I could sit for the Maryland Contractors Exam.

    To answer your earlier question, I have set up the basic file already and I've added the layers and the fonts, etc. I do know how to enter the coordinates on the command line (at least I thought I did) but for some reason it doesn't work out. Either some lines show up but then disapper. I will check my units against what you've provided above. Starting with the retangle is a great idea! They really don't give you much guidance in the booklet. Being able to see what I'm doing will be most helpful! DUH! You're right the limits PF sets are really not helpful to a newbie. I can see that I'm really going to love working with AutoCad once I can figure out what the hell I'm doing!! I can see it becoming addictive even. "What can I draw next???"
    Attached Files

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,453

    Default

    Well at least we are both on the same coast. I hit the sack around 8pm since my day starts at 3:30am. I usually go on my home computer after dinner for about an hour or so depending on what else I am doing. Lately my after dinner activity has been skim coating plaster walls. Not as exciting as CAD but it will have to do.

    Entering coordinates should look like this: 1234567.99,78923.57 not this 1,234,567.99,78,923.57. There should be only one comma and that is between the X and Y coordinate.

    Thanks for the PDF. I'll have to see if they updated anything based on comments I sent them which, by the way, they never bothered to respond to.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,453

    Default

    Alright, it is almost 6:30pm (EDST) here in beautiful Connecticut. Just thought I'd check in to see if you had any further questions. I guess not. In which case I'll take that as a sign that you are making good progress. See you on the flip side. Adios amigos.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #18
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    34

    Default

    I'm having great success! I'm just about through all you provided!!! I can't believe it! Its amazing how a little "tutoring" can go such a long way!!! I'm getting ready to download the tree block now. Everything else has gone without a hitch so far!! You just don't know how much this means to me because I was actually getting depressed!

  9. #19
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,453

    Default

    That's good news. Let's try to avoid getting depressed at all costs OK? Christmas is just around the corner. It's a time to be happy.

    I took a quick look through the PDF you provided yesterday and compared it to the one I received three years ago. There seems to be no changes to the instructions. That means you'll find a lack of information regarding some aspects of the project and I believe at least one tree location is inaccurate. Be forewarned.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #20
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,453

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You have reached the point in the project where you start defining the subdivision lots. But before we go any further I suggest you bring up the Properties palette. I am assuming you are using the student version of AutoCAD 2013 and your workspace has what is known as the "Ribbon" at the top of your screen. I want you to go to the View tab, Palettes panel and click on the Properties icon. See below.

    Oleson Village View Tab.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. need project help for penn foster oleson village
    By Firligic in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2017, 11:13 pm
  2. Penn Foster Oleson Village
    By cosme017 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 210
    Last Post: 28th Aug 2014, 10:43 am
  3. Penn Foster Oleson Village, Please Help
    By millerrk in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2011, 01:47 pm
  4. Penn Foster Oleson Village project
    By bracken2 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 1st Aug 2011, 04:07 pm
  5. Penn Foster Oleson Village drawing
    By black31 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2010, 10:56 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts