+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    howitzer's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7-64 Pro
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    nVid-something
    Discipline
    Civil
    howitzer's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Engineering Technician
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    32

    Default *.ctb vs *.stb: Which do you prefer, and why?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have always used *.ctb files, and have always plotted by color. It just makes infinite sense to me.

    However, a recent client of mine used *.stb files, so I had to use them for the first time. I was pretty impressed with them, I'm surprised to say.

    You don't plot by color, unless I'm missing something, but for the most part you don't have to. The only instance where I still wanted the plot-by-color option was in having a background solid hatch pattern. I ended up going two layers for that hatch area, one with the pattern, the other with a background solid that I could independently control.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    stb makes a lot of sense BUT if collaborating with others they have to agree or be required to also use it, otherwise it is much better to stay with ctb. I only use stb but I don't collaborate.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,039

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by howitzer View Post
    I have always used *.ctb files, and have always plotted by color. It just makes infinite sense to me.

    However, a recent client of mine used *.stb files, so I had to use them for the first time. I was pretty impressed with them, I'm surprised to say.

    You don't plot by color, unless I'm missing something, but for the most part you don't have to. The only instance where I still wanted the plot-by-color option was in having a background solid hatch pattern. I ended up going two layers for that hatch area, one with the pattern, the other with a background solid that I could independently control.
    I wish Autodesk would just take away CTB's and only allow STB's in AutoCAD 2014+. STB's make so much sense it's ridiculous. Lots of people are scared of them though simply because they don't understand them.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    howitzer's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7-64 Pro
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    nVid-something
    Discipline
    Civil
    howitzer's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Engineering Technician
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    I wish Autodesk would just take away CTB's and only allow STB's in AutoCAD 2014+. STB's make so much sense it's ridiculous. Lots of people are scared of them though simply because they don't understand them.
    I would tend to agree. I looked at them a couple times over the years, and moved on. Wasn't really interested because I didn't see the need.

    Now that I needed to use one, it only took a few minutes to understand it. It's really not that bad.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,039

    Default

    If you're interested, here's what I consider my "base" STB file to go off of:
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/4989089/Ima...lack%20STB.stb

    This is my own personal STB file that I use for my sidework uses. Notice the "Mask" plot style. Play with this one and see how you like it.... with Hatches, thickened Polylines, etc.

    But you can really get creative with STB's with a little imagination. For instance, have a style called "Revisions". Say you have 200+ sheets in a plan set and you wanted all the rev clouds to plot as Red instead of Black like everything else. Well, simply change the Revisions Plot Style to Red. No need to open 200+ sheets, or create a batch LISP routine. Plus it creates better standards. As CAD Coordinator I'd rather say all mechanical ductwork needs to be LW256 instead of Color 1. It puts focus on what they're designing and not just the color.

    And I'd rather have 15-20 plot style options rather than 255. Ever went through an entire CTB file looking at Lineweights just to figure out what was what? Ugh.

    Simple planning like this can have tremendous results with STB.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #6
    Senior Member EMS_0525's Avatar
    Computer Details
    EMS_0525's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    HP xw8400 Workstation
    RAM:
    4GB
    Primary Storage:
    250GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell 18" flat screens
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    253

    Default

    I have used CTBs since ive been on cad. Im trying to understand and see the benefit of STBs but i still havent. Our company uses colors 1-7,1 being the darkest (most thick) and 7 being the thinnest. Everyone here knows when we see red for text it will print bold and so on. All the rest of the colors just have the same thickness, they are all set to object lineweight. So i use some of the other colors but i know it wont be bold. Our 250 colors are our shading colors. 250 is closest to black and 255 is so light its hard to see. Our typical shading color is 253, right in the middle. To make things more interesting in our office we have one guy that uses STB's and the rest use CTBs so when we have to work on each others drawings its a huge PITA.

    So can someone help me understand STBs more? I dont understand "plot style option"
    There is never time to do it correct the first time, but there is always time to do it over.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Funny thing is (or maybe not) I don't even know which system I use, I just know I use the right one.

    Used to plot by color (I guess that is *.ctb?) back in the last century when we used pen plotters, but ever since we converted to ink jet or laser I've used the newer system (I guess from this discussion it is *.stb). My lineweight is controlled by layer. Never looked back.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  8. #8
    Senior Member EMS_0525's Avatar
    Computer Details
    EMS_0525's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    HP xw8400 Workstation
    RAM:
    4GB
    Primary Storage:
    250GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell 18" flat screens
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    253

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    My lineweight is controlled by layer. Never looked back.
    See... i use CTBs and my lineweight is controlled by layer also, because we only assign colors by layer never by object. So that isnt even a valid reason to use one over the other for me. Same result, just different circumstances.
    There is never time to do it correct the first time, but there is always time to do it over.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,039

    Default

    If you were to use a well set up STB file, you'd never go back.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  10. #10
    Senior Member EMS_0525's Avatar
    Computer Details
    EMS_0525's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    HP xw8400 Workstation
    RAM:
    4GB
    Primary Storage:
    250GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell 18" flat screens
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    253

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    If you were to use a well set up STB file, you'd never go back.
    Why? I have never seen a comparison or how one is better than the other. I have the feeling its more of an opinion thing, like MTEXT and DTEXT.
    There is never time to do it correct the first time, but there is always time to do it over.

Similar Threads

  1. When browsing the web for application help, do you prefer.....
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2011, 03:30 am
  2. Prefer text in panels, no icon
    By drwhite in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2010, 08:19 am
  3. which you prefer to use
    By e.mounir in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st Dec 2008, 11:50 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts