+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 51
  1. #11
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by EMS_0525 View Post
    Why?
    Start using STB's and you'll find out.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  2. #12
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    LINKs:
    A good article discussing the differences between STB and CTB.
    Cadalyst.com
    http://management.cadalyst.com/cadma....jsp?id=102922>
    The above link doesn't seem to work, try
    http://www.cadalyst.com/management/p...ot-styles-4897

    A good article on one firm's adoption of STB's. This is just one way of
    many ways to set up STB standards so don't read this as the only way to use
    STB's.
    AUGI.com
    May/June 2005 issue, page 24
    Last edited by rkent; 17th Dec 2012 at 05:03 pm.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #13
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Revit even further simplified it and I absolutely love it. You have Lineweights in Revit, but they are labeled as 1-16. 1 is thin. 16 is as thick as it gets. Easy peasy, done and done. STB's can be set up the same way. I'd rather manage 16 possibilities rather than 255 possibilities.

    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,821

    Default

    What is the difference if all your plots are B&W?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #15
    Senior Member the ber's Avatar
    Computer Details
    the ber's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Here's another good article, with illustrations, that does a pretty good job.
    http://www.ejsurveying.com/Articles/...lotStyles.aspx
    Sooner or later, you'll own Generals.

  6. #16
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the ber View Post
    Here's another good article, with illustrations, that does a pretty good job.
    http://www.ejsurveying.com/Articles/...lotStyles.aspx
    Awesome article. Seems the very last sentence, the author agrees with me. And I quote:
    "But more than likely, once you grow accustomed to using Named Plot Styles and STB files, and begin to appreciate the cleaner and clearer nature of Named Plot Styles, you will never want to go back!"
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  7. #17
    Senior Member EMS_0525's Avatar
    Computer Details
    EMS_0525's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    HP xw8400 Workstation
    RAM:
    4GB
    Primary Storage:
    250GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell 18" flat screens
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    253

    Default

    Read two of those articles..... still dont see how stbs are superior...
    There is never time to do it correct the first time, but there is always time to do it over.

  8. #18
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EMS_0525 View Post
    superior...
    This isn't the term to be using. It's not that they are superior, it's that they make more sense. And they are much easier to create, manage, and put to use for design production.

    Either way you choose at the end of the day if you feel CTB's are where it's at then so be it. It's a preference is all.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  9. #19
    Senior Member EMS_0525's Avatar
    Computer Details
    EMS_0525's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    HP xw8400 Workstation
    RAM:
    4GB
    Primary Storage:
    250GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell 18" flat screens
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    253

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    This isn't the term to be using. It's not that they are superior, it's that they make more sense. And they are much easier to create, manage, and put to use for design production.

    Either way you choose at the end of the day if you feel CTB's are where it's at then so be it. It's a preference is all.
    Im not trying to be arguing here... so i hope im not coming across that way. But i want to want to use STBs. I just still dont see that big of an advantage over CTBs for me to completey change how everyone in our company thinks. Like i said the one guy uses them, and if it was that advantageous i would switch. Im just not seeing it. I just see it as the end result is the same, just a different means of getting there. Just like everything else in autocad. There is 10 ways to do the same thing.
    There is never time to do it correct the first time, but there is always time to do it over.

  10. #20
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by EMS_0525 View Post
    Im not trying to be arguing here... so i hope im not coming across that way. But i want to want to use STBs. I just still dont see that big of an advantage over CTBs for me to completey change how everyone in our company thinks. Like i said the one guy uses them, and if it was that advantageous i would switch. Im just not seeing it. I just see it as the end result is the same, just a different means of getting there. Just like everything else in autocad. There is 10 ways to do the same thing.
    You're not seeing it because you haven't actually used them yet. It's one of those things where until you use them for... say 30 days straight... then go back to CTB you finally see it. You'll stop and say,"CTB's suck. I want STB's again."

    I linked my standard STB in an earlier post on this thread. If you open it up you'll understand my setup. But it also depends on what type of design production you do. I do all sorts of production work. I'd rather manage 15+/- named plot styles then have to manage 255 whether I like it or not. I don't want to by tied to colors at all. Colors don't matter, nor should it. If I want something to plot 0080" LW thickness then I simply put the object or layer on the "LW 0080" Named Plot Style. Done. Doesn't matter if it's red, white, Color 190, or True Color.

    When sharing STB's, people don't have to scour through all 255 colors to get an idea of how the plot style is set up. Anybody opens up my STB file they know exactly what's going on. Oh and lets not forget my Screening and Mask Plot Styles. The Mask Plot Style is just phenomenal and in this case, it truly is superior to CTB's when comparing the procedures to make this happen. But it sounds like you don't leverage Masking. Probably still use Wipeouts I assume? Most do.

    I mean, from your earlier post it sounds like all you use is 7 lineweights (eg: colors), then a few more for screening. So your need for a plot style use is probably the simplest I've ever heard of. At my company, we can't utilize that few colors. Our designs just can't take it. We might as well use all one color if all we have is 7 to choose from.

    And lets talk XREF's for a moment. I can XREF an architectural background, put it on the layer via our company standards, and set the layer to a Named Plot Style to screen it. Doesn't matter what colors are there.... I don't have to go and change any layers to a screened color (Color 253, for example) in the original file. Also, in the same file, I can have multiple Viewports and by a simple VP Override, I can put it to another Named Plot Style if I need the linework to be black instead of screened.

    Also, we utilize color in our PDF plots. We have Red for clouds in our internal QA/QC. Then orange, blue and green. So we have a Named Plot Style for this because each color represents a phase in our QA/QC. For this to happen using CTB that is not ByObject, you'd have to kill a few Colors, or you'd have to use True Color to override the CTB. Good luck with standards with that method.

    So for you, I'm guessing that it boils down to the fact that your design production is far to simple for it to even matter which is why you have a disconnect with STB's.

    My $0.02
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. When browsing the web for application help, do you prefer.....
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2011, 03:30 am
  2. Prefer text in panels, no icon
    By drwhite in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2010, 08:19 am
  3. which you prefer to use
    By e.mounir in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st Dec 2008, 11:50 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts