+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default Import Excel to DWGPROPS

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I work as an engineer for a solar company. We preform all of our calculations on an excel file, then transfer these values to Autocad to show our calculations for the plan checkers. I use the DWGPROPS command in Autocad to auto populate all the pages in my plans. I tend to do a lot of copy and pasting and to do all this.

    Is there a way to isolate the excel values I need and import them into my Autocad DWGPROPS?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,378

    Default

    You can bring in an entire worksheet or a range of cells via the Table > Datalink command.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for the reply, but it isn't quite what I am looking for. I need the table to insert directly into the DWGPROPS command, not just in a separate table. Do you know if that is possible?

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,378

    Default

    I have no idea. Inserting the table in the drawing makes more sense to me. But it is your drawing so place your data anywhere you want.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    The short answer is... No.

    A more complete answer... Is that despite the inability to paste an Excel cell range directly into specific components of DWGPROPS, one can write a relatively simple LISP routine, which can programmatically query the applicable cell values, and populate the Document Object's (read Drawing's) SummaryInfo Object's Properties accordingly.

    HTH
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hmm that is interesting... I have never written a LISP routine before. So I guess that will be my next question. What is and how do I write one?

  7. #7
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cmangi86 View Post
    Hmm that is interesting... I have never written a LISP routine before. So I guess that will be my next question. What is and how do I write one?
    That is a loaded question... You'll have to forgive the simplicity implied by my previous post, as I do quite a bit of programming these days.

    LISP is a programming language exposed to AutoCAD in the form of an API, which allows for users to access Objects to query Property values, Settings, etc.. at the Entity, Document (read Drawing), and Application level. My description in no way does justice to fully quantify an answer here, but I am short on time at the moment.

    Written quickly... Here's a small example of being able to access, in this case 'view', the SummaryInfo Object's Properties and Methods from the Command Line:

    Code:
    (vl-load-com)
    
    (defun c:DumpSummaryInfo ()
      (textpage)
      (vlax-dump-object
        (vla-get-summaryinfo
          (vla-get-activedocument (vlax-get-acad-object))
        )
        T
      )
      (princ)
    )
    You can simply copy this code, paste it at the Command Line, and hit Enter to load the code into your ActiveDocument (read the current drawing)... To invoke, simply enter "DumpSummaryInfo" (no quotes) at the Command Line, and again hit Enter. The rest is self-explanitory (once you invoke).

    HTH
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  8. #8
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Before I forget... If/When you or someone willing to help you, code this up... Be sure to start thinking about the Excel data you're needing to query. Specifically, does this data need to remain in .XLS(x) format, or can it be exported to .CSV, etc. as there is significant;y less overhead (within LISP) to access that sort of data file, and process, etc..

    Accessing Excel.Application directly requires not only more overhead, but also error handling... A bit more than the typical LISP beginner is accustom.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  9. #9
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,748

    Default

    If your game I think it was over at "theswamp" there is a really good excel <> lsp to down load I have it at home not at work I think it was "Getexcel.lsp" it has a number of functions, getacell, getmultiple cells and opposites put values into excel. It is well laid out with lots of comments about how it works. I will have a look at home later I think I found it Googling.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  10. #10
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I could be wrong, but that sounds like a Jefferey P. Sanders (sp?) routine... Further, if its the one I have in mind, it imports the typed library functions with prefixes, in lieu of interfacing with the Excel.Application Object.

    Perhaps our good friend Oleg can join into this conversation and offer some of his great code samples?
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

Similar Threads

  1. Using LISP to Import From Excel
    By Bill Tillman in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2015, 12:40 pm
  2. Can i import an excel sheet in autocad??
    By provas_ce in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Oct 2012, 02:57 pm
  3. import excel file
    By silviu30 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th Aug 2010, 12:35 pm
  4. import attribute to excel
    By rovinemarvic in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Jun 2010, 01:23 pm
  5. Import Txt From External File (excel)
    By MARK in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th Jun 2007, 10:27 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts