+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member amanda phillips's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    15

    Default 2013 running slow

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We are having trouble with some of the PC’s in the office running very slowly.
    We are all running AutoCAD civil 3D 2013, however when we open the same drawing on different machines some machines are painfully slow while others are ok.

    The main problems seem to be :-
    • when switching between tabs (there are 9 layout tabs) some PC’s take 4/5 seconds while others take up to 60 seconds.
    • Hatching some pc’s are fine while others are painfully slow – that is if they don’t crash.
    The operating systems on all of the pc’s are similar
    We are operating
    Microsoft windows XP Professional Version 2002 service pack 3
    Intel® Core™2 CPU
    E8400@3.00GHz
    3.00GHz, 3.24 GB of RAM
    NVIDIA Quatro FX 1700

    This problem is very frustrating and we are puzzled how it seems to occur on 3 out of 8 of our PC’s.

    I would be very grateful if someone could advise us

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,991

    Default

    First things to try - set one at a time and test until you find the culprit.
    HPQUICKPREVIEW set to 0
    HPDLGMODE set to 0
    Dock the command line.
    Set hardware acceleration on.
    Turn the layer manager off.
    Turn off Selection Cycling, SC button at the bottom of the screen.
    Turn PROPERTIES off.
    Set FIELDEVAL to 4.

    Start AutoCAD with a new profile on the trouble machines as a test.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Junior Member amanda phillips's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thank you for your reply.
    I tried altering the settings you suggested but unfortunately they didn't cure the problem.

    I just noticed that some of the PC's (the slow ones) were missing a SHX file - created by MX - I have inserted the file and they are a lot quicker. Acad must have been looking for the file when switching tabs.

    Thanks again for your reply

  4. #4
    Super Member irneb's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irneb's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    Antec One Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67-Pro P67
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16GB-1600MHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 430 (1GB)
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate1TB SATA2 - 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2333TN 23" 1920 x 1080 Full HD LCD Monitor2GW
    Discipline
    Architectural
    irneb's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician and Programmer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    1,738

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yep, usually one PC being slow is either a setting / files missing / folders missing / something using too much RAM. You could always use Process Monitor to check where the failed attempts occur.
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD 2013 on Mac running SLOW!
    By russ_1989 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Sep 2012, 04:33 pm
  2. Cad is running slow
    By souvik in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th Jul 2012, 10:35 am
  3. Inventor running very slow
    By sadil in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2011, 12:52 pm
  4. Bit Of A CAD Drawing Problem - running slow
    By GA-CAD in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Dec 2009, 11:48 am
  5. 2009 LT Running Slow
    By YZ in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 21st Aug 2008, 06:00 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts