+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 55
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Able339's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Pro 7
    Using
    AutoCAD LT pre 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    21

    Embarrassed Question from an old dummy

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have been trying to hatch a side view of a concrete floor... It won't do it (aCAD Lt 97). I have a long skinny rectangle and I have (multiple times) clicked on the boundaries (?) - there are no breaks in the rectangle, but when I try to hatch it, I get a message re: unable to hatch boundaries or some such (my memory along with some other personal things is no longer reliable...) I need some help with the hatching, and also, drawing lines at an angle AND... making segments of a drawing move (animating a mechanical drawing re testing it... I used to (10 years ago) be able to do these things on my antiquated version of aCAD but ...... I'll be damned if I can remember how I did it. HELP please.
    Last edited by Able339; 15th Jan 2013 at 12:30 am. Reason: grammar

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Use the Rectangle command.
    Draw the rectangle over the object to be hatched.
    The object will be a polyline is a solid line with out any brakes.
    After hatching the area erase the polyline.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You can draw a line at an angle using direct distance entry at the command line.

    Example: to draw a line 2.5 units long at a 45 degree angle one would type @2.5<45 then press the Enter key.

    You animated parts of a drawing using a pre-2000 version of AutoCAD? I don't recall that feature being available back then.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Able339's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Pro 7
    Using
    AutoCAD LT pre 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You can draw a line at an angle using direct distance entry at the command line.

    Example: to draw a line 2.5 units long at a 45 degree angle one would type @2.5<45 then press the Enter key.

    You animated parts of a drawing using a pre-2000 version of AutoCAD? I don't recall that feature being available back then.



    I know it was a pre 2000 version because I started using it in '98 or so... I really think it was one of the very early versions. All I had was a half dozen or so 3.5 floppy disks with which to install it. There's the possibility it may have been a pirated version but I don't really know. I was supervising a tool room at the time and used it to sheck out the functionality of moving parts... one of them was an unloading device which traveled in and out of a trim press to gather trimmed parts.I was able to "animate" the moving part (a shuttle) and see exactly what the reach was, etc. It worked fine and I cannot for the life of me remember how I did it. I would really like help re: doing that again. and also importantly, thank you for the help re: drawing a line at an angle.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Able339's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Pro 7
    Using
    AutoCAD LT pre 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ollie8974 View Post
    Use the Rectangle command.
    Draw the rectangle over the object to be hatched.
    The object will be a polyline is a solid line with out any brakes.
    After hatching the area erase the polyline.
    After many failures, I did draw a bigger rectangle, think ing that what I was trying to hatch was too long and too skinney. The bigger, fatter rectangle wouldn't hatch either. I do not remember the exact verbage, but it had something to do with boundaries... not being able to do boundary hatches or some such. I will go back to the cad, make a rectangle in pieces or as a whole, and try again. I'll write down the reason why it doesn't do it. I am using aCAD Lt 97, by the way.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Just attach a copy of your drawing to your next post. Someone here will take a look at it and tell you what the problem might be.

    Sorry but I still believe there was no animation type command in that version of AutoCAD. Maybe you created a slide show and the delay between slides was so small it appeared to be animated.

    Could you have used another piece of software for the animation?

    Are you still running this on a Windows 95 computer?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    iainlines's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I make boxes n stuff!
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smack bang in the middle of England
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Make sure you are clicking INSIDE the rectangle when using hatch command.
    Whilst you can pick objects the default (or at least on ACAD 2007) is to 'pick points' which means to click inside whatever you are attempting to hatch

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    MikeMc52's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precosopm 490
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dells
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Sometimes when drawing angle lines it is easier to draw a straight line then rotate it to the desired angle.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Able339's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Pro 7
    Using
    AutoCAD LT pre 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    21

    Default

    I believe I tried clicking inside of the area I wish to hatch... didn't seem to make any difference. I am somewhat confused (Normal state?) though, re pick points.


    The older we get fewer things are worth waiting in line for.
    You can get more of what you want with a kind word and a gun than you can with just a kind word. Al Capone.

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Please attach a copy of your drawing to your next post. Click on the Go Advanced button. At the next screen click on the Paper Clip icon. Browse to where your drawing is located and upload it. Finally, click on the Insert Inline button. Throw in a few words of explanation then save it.

    Are you intent on ignoring the questions I asked in my previous post?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2010, 02:27 pm
  2. Question
    By bradb in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2009, 09:19 pm
  3. C# Question
    By wannabe in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2008, 12:26 am
  4. Searching for a dummy...
    By Greg Gregoriadis in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2008, 03:08 am
  5. command line up arrow question, and grip edit distance question
    By Rebel in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2nd Jun 2008, 03:15 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts