+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default autocad 2006 on win7 64-bit

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Can anyone help me with installing autocad 2006 on win7 64-bit? I'm having trouble to install it on my wife's laptop.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,472

    Default

    What version of Win7? Is it the Home Edition?

    Note that AutoCAD 2006 would be compatible with Windows XP mode. Another option would be to buy a separate piece of software called Longbow.

    Re: WinXP mode. http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx

    Re: Longbow software. http://www.longbowsoftware.com/
    Last edited by ReMark; 1st Feb 2013 at 04:04 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks, but I checked for longbow and it's not free. Is there any simple cad software for free. My wife used to use autocad, so I will have to find some simple alternative cause she has no time to learn new software.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    Take a look at Draftsight, it's a free autocad-clone that I have found to work very similar to AutoCAD.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,472

    Default

    frank: You asked for help installing 2006 on your wife's computer. I gave you two options. The first IS free (from Microsoft) while Longbow, an entirely different program, is not. Had I known you were looking for free, simple, CAD software I would have made other suggestions. I concur with Tiger re: Draftsight. It is offered as a free download from the dessault systemes website. While you are there you should also download the free Draftsight Guide in PDF form. It consists of well over 100 pages.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,073

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    Take a look at Draftsight, it's a free autocad-clone that I have found to work very similar to AutoCAD.
    +1 to that.
    I use Draftsight here at home. It's a great free 2D CAD program.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Autocad 2012: Quick Access Toolbar Illegible/ Transperency Issue under Win7 x64
    By one25IT in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th Oct 2011, 09:21 am
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th Jul 2010, 10:22 pm
  3. Adapting lisp menu from ABS 2006 to AutoCAD 2006
    By rab in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2007, 03:01 pm
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Sep 2006, 08:37 pm
  5. difference between AutoCAD 2006 and AutoCAD 2006 lite
    By Archi in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th Jan 2006, 03:51 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts