+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Pyro's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro
    Computer:
    Sager np8170
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Pyro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dominica
    Posts
    4

    Default Autodesk Software Marketing

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have been using autodesk architecture for some years now and recently have been hearing and seeing a lot about revit architecture. what intrigues me is why does autodesk promote revit above autocad or why the shift from cad base to revit? would appreciate some sort of feed, thanks for any clarification.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Revit adds specific functionality not included in plain old AutoCAD. It is specifically engineered for Building Information Modeling (BIM).

    Learn more about BIM here...http://usa.autodesk.com/building-information-modeling/
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Pyro's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro
    Computer:
    Sager np8170
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Pyro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dominica
    Posts
    4

    Default

    from my experience with autodesk architecture i feel it too is geared towards bim, once the project navigator is employed or one works in 3d. plus it doesnt respond to why the change in platform.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Q: Why does AutoDesk do anything? A: Because it can.

    Perhaps the question can best be answered by paying a visit to the AutoDesk Discussion Groups and posting it there. Since those forums are monitored by AutoDesk employees you might get a more detailed explanation. Or speak with your authorized AutoDesk reseller.

    This forum is not directly affiliated with AutoDesk.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,576

    Default

    Pyro - both are BIM programs. Revit was developed by another company and Autodesk realized it was a better solution so they bought them out and continued to develop Revit. They were left with the problem of competing programs inside their company and are probably hoping people quit buying Architecture and move to Revit. From the sound of it Revit is by far the better solution but Autodesk can't be seen dropping Architecture and announcing to current customers that it is not as good as Revit, please move to it, we were wrong about the other one.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    A quick Internet search re: "Why Revit is better than AutoCAD Architecture" turns up a handful of discussions. I suggest you (Pyro) might read a couple of them if you get the opportunity.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Pyro's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro
    Computer:
    Sager np8170
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Pyro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dominica
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Remark: i'm not looking at why any of the softwares are better than the other but why has autodesk choosen to make revit its software of choice? cause from what i can see they are both very capable softwares and frankly autocad architecture has its advantages over revit architecture and vice versa. then again you made a good suggestion of posting it on one of autodesks forums which i'll do, thanks.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    AutoDesk has choosen to make Revit the software of choice most likely because it has a long term goal in mind that does not embrace having two separate solutions. Would it surprise anyone if AutoCAD Architecture goes the way of the dodo?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Right Autodesk software for the job
    By dsheli in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2013, 05:51 pm
  2. New Autodesk software: DVD or Download?
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2010, 09:13 pm
  3. Question about marketing / advertising
    By BOB'27T in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 29th Oct 2008, 02:13 am
  4. Which autodesk software for cabinets?
    By Lucid in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th Nov 2007, 01:05 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts