How many of you still use LISP routines?

Currahee

Someone posted on a thread of mine that he uses a lot of LISP's; well that is something I haven't used in 20 years or so with AutoCAD 12. Is there still a need for them? Are people still writing routines like they used too? I know I have for gotten even how to write one, heck I wouldn't even know how to load one any longer.

Any thoughts?

Tell us what kind you use and for what purpose

Autolisp or VLisp are tools to do what you want not just commands in Autocad. By writing a program in Autolisp you put your specific needs that Autocad may not fulfill. I am new to Autolisp programing but found it useful in my work, such as drawing underfloor heating circuits, which is a rigorous work and consumes lots of time. I suggest to read the section of Autolisp forum because it contains many useful thoughts you may regard is.

Finally, it depends on your demands in achieving something specific in your work rather than just listing commands as it is in Autocad.

there is certainly a need. A few I have have been superceded by AutoCAD but not all.

For instance, years ago I wrote a "clouding" routine. AutoCAD now has one inbuilt but mine puts up a dialogue box so you can preset the scale and the layer. I don't think the in built one has any layer control function so is less efficient than mine.

There are also a lot of times I need some text manipulation. AutoCAD is fine for simple find and replace but things like "move the number in the 4th position to the front and add a dash" are just about impossible without coding.

I don't actually use LISP much these days but that is because most of our daily routines are now in VBA. However if an urgent need arises I'll request a LISP here an if I time it right somebody will have posted working code quicker than I can do the VBA.

Taylor, your concussion isn't coming back now, is it?

If you are not sure if they still have merit, and are useful, go to