+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    27

    Default Switching between products

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    When using a design suite e.g autocad building suite containing various products - architecture, structual detailing, autocad, revit structure, navisworks etc, can i switch from one product to another without first closing the dwg file?

    E.g Start a file in autocad then sitch to autocad architecture workspace without first closing the original file and re-opening it as autocad architecture

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    What you are asking for the answer is not as you want. If you have a dwg open in AutoCAD and start to edit it then start AutoCAD ARCH and open the same dwg it will open as a "read only" not allowing you to edit and save those edits. IOf you have a dwg open in any AutoCAD verticals as a dwg and try to import into Revit you may get the "File in Use" message and it will not import.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for info

Similar Threads

  1. Switching views in 3d
    By Lentezza in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16th Aug 2012, 04:30 am
  2. switching workspaces
    By fostertom in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th Jul 2012, 02:55 pm
  3. Switching between layouts in VB
    By TroutKing in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2007, 04:46 pm
  4. switching on off viewports
    By comcu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd May 2007, 01:39 pm
  5. switching between layers
    By monkey in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd May 2007, 09:20 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts