is it possible to place a sleeve over a round tube for a moving part?

trussman

I am wanting to know if it is possible using inventor 2013 and how to create 2 parts that sleeve together and be able to be moving parts through inventor?

Like I want to have per say one round tube straight and have several sections of another round tube with the inside dimensions to match the outside dimensions of the first tube placed in different locations along the first tube and for it to be a moving part through inventor is this possible and how can I do this

I am presuming that they would have to be separate parts that are assembled and I was wanting to use the frame generator for those parts also can someone help?

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• trussman

• JD Mather

• TenSecond408

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

excelent now how to do it lolis there a simple tut I can follow and I mean my type of simple lol as you know

Im not an expert at with Inventor, but what your trying to do it fairly simple (the way I would do it atleast)

The way i would do it:

1: Create new part, draw your main tube that will be sliding inside the sleeves, save part

2: Create new part, now draw your sleeves, with the ID matching the OD of the main tube, save part

3: Create an assembly

4: Place main tube into the assembly

5: Place sleeves into assembly

6: make a constraint: "mate" and use the concentric axis of both the main tube and the sleeves (this will constrain the tube and the sleeves to the same center axis)

7: make a constraint for each sleeve: "mate" select the face of the first sleeve and the face of the 2nd sleeve ( this will constrain the sleeve face to the sleeve face) then you can apply offsets to space each sleeve apart from each other accordingly

Hope this helps

AJ Newman

Ok will this work with frame generator?