+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    turboCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    București, România
    Posts
    113

    Default HDD crashed, recovered ACAD files invalid.How to reconstruct invalid .DWG files?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello !
    About a month ago the HDD (wd7500bpkt) of my Acer 7750G laptop decided to teach me a lesson about backing up data and not putting all the information on the same data storage device no matter how reliable the classic HDD has become.
    The hdd failed and I tried to fix it with a recovery software and damaged it even further. I took it to a data recovery firm and they managed to recover some data but most of it is non usable(I am referring to .dwg files). The following message appears when I attempt to open a damaged .dwg file:

    "Drawing file is not valid"

    However, the file amounts to 1177 KB* which, to me, means that the file contains information but with missing bits; those missing bits may be interpolated using those that are intact as I don't think the .dwg file is encrypted with random sequences that can not be predicted(*that is roughly the same size it had prior to the failure).
    I found "DWG Repair Toolbox" but have not tried it yet.
    Has anyone tried repairing a damaged .dwg file and was successful in doing so ?What was the procedure, what software has been used?
    Thank you !

    AND
    -always back up your work (memory stick + Mitsubishi-Verbatim archiving dvds)
    -don't try to fix something as important as a hdd that contains all of your work and important documents with software you have just found out about,
    as you will only worsen the situation: do not reconnect the hdd to voltage and take it to a data recovery company.
    - defragment your HDD* periodically as it greatly improves the chance of a full recovery for a given file (*defragmenting is recommended for the classical, spinning platters hdd and not for the SSDs )
    Last edited by turboCAD; 14th Mar 2013 at 04:12 pm.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Did you try to Recover or Audit the drawing?

    Insert into a new .dwg or XREF?

    See if there is a .bak file of the drawing and rename?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    turboCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    București, România
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    Did you try to Recover or Audit the drawing?

    Insert into a new .dwg or XREF?

    See if there is a .bak file of the drawing and rename?
    I tried audit and it could not open it.
    Now, after I read what you told me, I changed the extension from .bak to .dwg and it worked in one out of four files so it is a good start.
    I will also try your other suggestions and post the results.
    Thank you, SLW210 !

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    turboCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    București, România
    Posts
    113

    Default

    I tried to insert it: Insert/dwg reference/
    and this was autocad's conclusion:
    [Window Title]
    XATTACH - Invalid File

    [Main Instruction]
    This file cannot be opened.

    [Content]
    The problem can be caused by several things:
    - The data in the file is corrupted
    - The file is an earlier format that is no longer supported
    - The file format is not supported

    Try to obtain a better copy of the file, recreate the file using different settings, or convert the file to a supported file format.

    [Close]

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    turboCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    București, România
    Posts
    113

    Default

    click red A in left corner/ Drawing Utilities/Recover/Recover with Xrefs
    The drawing could not be recovered

    click red A in left corner/ Drawing Utilities/Recover/Recover
    Unable to recover drawing.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    turboCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    București, România
    Posts
    113

    Default

    this is interesting: I tried to insert another invalid file and when I selected it in the "Insert DWG reference" dialogue,
    a correct preview of it appeared in the small window at the top right of the dialogue box
    then, after clicking "Open", the "Attach external reference" dialog box also showed a correct preview of the file but after pressing ok:
    Attach Xref "tije": C:\Users\Dr. Evil\Desktop\recuperate\tije.dwg
    ** File C:\Users\Dr. Evil\Desktop\recuperate\tije.dwg isn't a valid drawing.

    The previews were correct but the file is not valid.


    The same file analyzed with "recover" yielded a partially recovered drawing: 72 errors found and fixed and 92 files erased
    but I was not allowed to save it
    ---------------------------
    AutoCAD Message
    ---------------------------
    One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format. The operation was not completed and no file was created.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
    I selected the remaining objects and tried to copy and paste them in a new .dwg file but
    select,Ctrl+C, => "Copy to clipboard failed"
    Last edited by turboCAD; 15th Mar 2013 at 11:16 am.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    The previews are just saved image files and not the actual DWG file.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    turboCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    București, România
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The previews are just saved image files and not the actual DWG file.
    I feared that.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    turboCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    București, România
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Does anyone know how to recover autocad files from "pagefile.sys " file in Windows
    or from hiberfil.sys ?

Similar Threads

  1. Invalid URI
    By jumbo55r in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2012, 01:56 pm
  2. ATTEXT:invalid field specification, invalid field specification, etc etc
    By Edward Teller in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2012, 05:18 pm
  3. Invalid CUI
    By SanMiguel in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2011, 08:49 pm
  4. Invalid solids in ACAD 2000
    By WagglyFawn in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Oct 2007, 03:07 pm
  5. Need to convert (Xsteel) .nc1 files to conventional .dxf ACAD files...
    By amarinaro in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2007, 04:03 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts