+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Gideon's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    RAM:
    3 GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V4800
    Discipline
    Structural
    Gideon's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil/Structural Design
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    Plant 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Texas
    Posts
    16

    Default AutoCad Plant 3d Structural Detailing - Brace Connections

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    030613-mm-02.jpgHas anyone had any experience with brace connections (gusset plates) in ASD yet?

    The connections that are circled on the attachment I built and did not auto create in the program.

    I'm wondering if it is the fact that the brace material is a WT? The brace on the upper left I was able to use the program to install the member and connections, however it would not accept a WT member. (I deleted and replaced with WT per design.)

    Just got the new Plant Design Suite at the office, and am enjoying it quite a bit more than Bentley AutoPlant, though Bentley would have handled this brace issue.

    It is not too time consuming for me to build these connections, a couple of minutes perhaps, but if I could get the program to do it, that would be faster still!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Are you using a channel for your braces?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Gideon's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    RAM:
    3 GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V4800
    Discipline
    Structural
    Gideon's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil/Structural Design
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    Plant 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Texas
    Posts
    16

    Default

    No sir, WT6x13.

    I am thinking that ASD just does not recognize these as a viable brace member. Shame, we use them a lot in our area.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Up here were primarily use square or rectangular tube for those types of braces.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Gideon's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    RAM:
    3 GB
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro V4800
    Discipline
    Structural
    Gideon's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil/Structural Design
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    Plant 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Texas
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Up here were primarily use square or rectangular tube for those types of braces.
    Structurally speaking we would love to use tube steel. But most of our clients do not like it, as we are on the coast, they fear corrosion inside the tube where it can go un-noticed. As hard to believe as it is, not all of our clients galvanize steel, instead relying on paint to protect from the elements.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yes, that can be a problem if the tube ends are sealed. We slot our tubes to fit over the plate and through bolt them. We leave the ends open for air flow. No failures so far.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Autocad structural detailing
    By Ize Buko in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Jan 2011, 11:08 pm
  2. Autocad structural detailing 2011
    By Ize Buko in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2011, 02:09 pm
  3. Autocad Structural Detailing
    By pop3 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Jan 2011, 02:09 pm
  4. AutoCAD Structural Detailing 2010
    By willbuck20 in forum Revit General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2010, 08:27 am
  5. AutoCAD Structural Detailing Software.
    By stevsmith in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th Feb 2010, 07:55 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts