+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Student version?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am an old time autocad user and I worked in the business for many years. I am currently back in college and was wondering if in fact there is still student versions of autocad out there and if there is do any of you know the limitations of the student version software?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,057

    Default

    yes.

    it's usually either a 1 or 2 year license. talk to your school's bookstore, or get online and search... amazon.com i think has it.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    The student edition has a 2 year timebomb and there is also an over-print on printed drawings. Also, don't even think of using an educational version in a commercial environment because drawings will become "infected" and identified as educational only.

    In the UK the student edition costs about 100 and I guess it will be equivalent wherever you are. You can get it from many online education stores but you will need some authorisation from your college.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    well shoot that rules out that idea then.

    Here is what I am looking to do with the program. My experience is of course only with the full blown version of AutoCAD (no idea what version it was that I started with it... 1988 whatever that was) and I have never used any of the LT versions or anything like that. I will need to be able to create mainly architectural drawings and be able to convert these drawings into 3D with walkthrough animations and yes I need to be able to make money off what I am doing.

    Is full blown ACAD my only option? If it is my only option I wonder how viable it would be to pickup say 2004 or something like that for cheaper?

    Thanks for responses guys.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    ATLANTA
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Since AutoCAD is quite an expensive software package you would probably need to avoid buying the full version flat out. You can try LT and see if it works for you, because the educational version prints a huge "This Drawing created with an education version" on any drawings that are created by it.

    *edited by hendie*
    reason: to remove the kind of information we don't want published on this site

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,057

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by criscoduck
    well shoot that rules out that idea then.

    Here is what I am looking to do with the program. My experience is of course only with the full blown version of AutoCAD (no idea what version it was that I started with it... 1988 whatever that was) and I have never used any of the LT versions or anything like that. I will need to be able to create mainly architectural drawings and be able to convert these drawings into 3D with walkthrough animations and yes I need to be able to make money off what I am doing.

    Is full blown ACAD my only option? If it is my only option I wonder how viable it would be to pickup say 2004 or something like that for cheaper?

    Thanks for responses guys.
    if you want 3D - then you have to get the full blown copy of AutoCAD, which sells for about $4,000 for version 2007. i think i've seen it as cheap as $3,000 but i'm not for sure.

    the LT version is around $800 but NO 3D, Lisp, or Express Tools, plus a few others that i'm aware of. you could jump on eBay and look for an older license package that someone is reselling... but buyer beware. lol you never know if it's legit or not when it comes to selling discounted/older software on the net.

    i really dont know of any other option to go about it.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  7. #7
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE
    you could jump on eBay and look for an older license package that someone is reselling... but buyer beware. lol you never know if it's legit or not when it comes to selling discounted/older software on the net.
    Beware; you cannot legally buy full AutoCAD from anyone other than an authorised dealer. So eBay is out.

    The bottom line is that if you want to use AutoCAD for commercial purposes, then you should buy a legitimate copy from an authorised dealer. Any other course of action is illegal.

    If you can't afford AutoCAD right now, you should take a look at the many versions of IntelliCAD such as this one: http://www.autodsys.com/intellicadhome.html a full AutoCAD clone for under $400. There are other developers working with IntelliCAD so it's worth Googling "Intellicad" to see what's available.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  8. #8
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,057

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CADTutor
    Beware; you cannot legally buy full AutoCAD from anyone other than an authorised dealer. So eBay is out.
    oh wow, i didn't know that. i thought you could pass it on one time and one time only. wow guess i was wrong.... sorry for that!

    let me ask ya this then... for those who do sell an actual copy they purchased long ago for cheap, are they held liable for this? is it illegal for the selling party too?
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  9. #9
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Like most software, you don't actually buy AutoCAD per se. You buy a licence to use it. Each licence is allocated to an individual or a company and it cannot be passed on to anyone else.

    It is illegal to sell on your copy/licence of AutoCAD and eBay have been asked to withdraw such items by Autodesk - yes, they're checking
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Intellicad looks very promising, in fact I think I remember playing with it years ago.

    Are any of you aware if there is a PGP type file in Intellicad for me to play with like ACAD?

    Thanks again for all the help guys, looks like intellicad would be a good option to start down this road.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts