+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default Model space in wrong scale!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a drawing with the model space set at 3/16" scale. I've never worked like this before (I obviously always scale in layout space). However, I need to get this drawing back to normal scale so I can work on it.

    I have no idea how to use the scale factor on this to get model space from 3/16" to 1:1.

    Please help. I'm getting really frustrated.

    Thank you!!!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,755

    Default

    To get everything back to full size scale your drawing by a factor of 64.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,298

    Default

    Or just scale with the reference option for known distances.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thank you. I had tried that, only it made the drawing so large that I couldn't even navigate it. I wonder if I'm incorrect about the scaling? It's the weirdest thing I've come across. Sometimes exterior double doors are measuring 6'-0", sometimes they're measuring over 300'-0". I cannot figure this out. I ended up playing around with it and scaled it up 1.325. I have no idea why that might have worked. It's close. Not exact, but close.

    I appreciate your assistance! I was frazzled. Still perplexed...but things are currently working.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,541

    Default

    Scaling is HS mathematics.
    Measure current size of something you know the true size should be.
    SF*measured size=true size
    therefore
    SF=true size/measured size

    Double check.

    If working in feet and inches be sure to account for units.

    This is probably the most common question that appears here, yet should be understood by anyone entering this field.

    Sometimes ....measuring 6'-0", sometimes ....measuring over 300'-0". I cannot figure this out.
    Neither can I. Attach your file here.

    If you can't figure it out - attach your file here.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I know - it's such a simple formula, and yet I just couldn't figure out what that equation was! I still can't figure out how the architect did this drawing. I think it's working now, but I'm still getting some odd dimensions. The file is so large, I don't think I can attach it or I would.

    I appreciate the guidance and support. If I can figure out how to reduce the size of the file, I will (and, of course, if you know how I can do that, tell me please!).

    Thanks again.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,541

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by intangerine View Post
    ... I still can't figure out how the architect did this drawing....
    Say no more.

    You could delete all but a couple of areas of geometry. That should reduce the file size. Make sure you have a back-up and do a File>Save As (save as reduces file size)
    I am interested in the areas of great discrepency that you mention.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I keep trying to delete a lot of the file and resend, but it's still too big. Maybe they really messed this file up!?

    Sometimes when I measure, though previously it measured correctly, it will start to dimension weird (like a vanity that should be about 24" wide will all-of-a-sudden measure out at 20'-0"). This is the strangest file I've worked on.

    I'm very, very curious to see if you find what I'm finding! And, if you find why this is occurring. I'll keep trying to delete and see if I can save and resend.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,755

    Default

    Erase 90% of the drawing then save it under a new name. Attach the drawing file to your next post.

    I gave you the scale factor based upon the information you provide that the drawing was done at a 3/16"=1'-0" scale. Did you at least try rescaling the drawing or not?

    What makes you think the drawing was done "to scale" as though drawn on a drafting board?

    Was a layout and viewport used in this drawing?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    865

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It will certainly be interesting to see how this one turns out. In the old days, before viewports, you could certainly find views with differing scales. Scaling everything up would not necessarily fix the prob in that case. But you should get consistent results from the same view, unless you have more than one dimension style you are using and checking it that way. BTW, it was not clear to me from your description if you are using dimensions to check the drawing, or if you are using the Distance command. The latter would be more definitive, as Dimension styles can be set up to show measurements altered by scale factors. Regarding model space: the Model tab is the place to be. I don't think it can be renamed; but you can rename a layout tab, e.g., ModelSpace.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

Similar Threads

  1. Linetype scale from Model space to Paper Space
    By sam_dubya in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2012, 04:26 am
  2. Help getting the right scale from Model Space to Paper Space
    By Susan-Skye in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 28th Oct 2010, 01:51 pm
  3. Paper Space Scale question: What have I done wrong?
    By Mauser in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2010, 10:55 am
  4. Scale the lintype in model space & paper space.
    By yadavdinesh2008 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th May 2009, 06:14 pm
  5. linetype scale in Model Space/Paper Space
    By delangorgon in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2007, 04:55 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts