+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    TheyCallMeJohn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision M6800
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4930MX @ 3.00 GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 5800
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    80

    Unhappy Plotted PDFs: Text turning into little white boxes

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello Forum Friends,
    So I have a problem, new to me but hopefully someone has run into this and generated a solution.

    Our company plotted some PDFs using Publish, DWG to PDF and all the text came out fine but when our customer views the text in Bluebeam some of it is replaced by little white squares. It also prints out on their end with the little squares.

    Mystery_Squares.png

    Has anyone run into this and what is the fix?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    That is a font or special character issue. Solution:

    Go to DWG To PDF.pc3 properties. Device and Document tab, select Custom Properties from the list. Click Custom Properties button. The third section down in that box has options for Font Handling. "Select Capture all" and check "As geometry".

    For some reason I cannot upload any screenshots. That would have been so much easier to explain with a picture.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    TheyCallMeJohn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision M6800
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4930MX @ 3.00 GHz
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 5800
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    80

    Default Thanks!

    This seems to have worked... now the problem is getting all the drafters and engineers to implement so I don't have to clean up the mess again in the future.

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    That is a font or special character issue. Solution:

    Go to DWG To PDF.pc3 properties. Device and Document tab, select Custom Properties from the list. Click Custom Properties button. The third section down in that box has options for Font Handling. "Select Capture all" and check "As geometry".

    For some reason I cannot upload any screenshots. That would have been so much easier to explain with a picture.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie Shorn's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hello,
    I realize this thread is a few years old but I'm hoping someone will still reply.

    I am having this same problem at work but we don't want to use the "As geometry" option because our pdf's are searchable... any other solution ideas??

    Thanks so much!!

  5. #5
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,738

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Use generic fonts either Autocad provided or out of the box TTF as supplied by windows. Stay away from custom fonts if pdf's are to be provided to some one else.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. how do i get rid of the little white pop up boxes
    By ovandertuig in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2013, 03:35 am
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2013, 03:39 pm
  3. lofted solids turning into boxes
    By kathleen_amaral in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2010, 10:29 pm
  4. Why Is My Drawing Turning White?
    By KORBER in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2010, 06:10 pm
  5. Properties box turning white and blank
    By GSE in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th Nov 2007, 05:49 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts