+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 57
  1. #1
    Full Member KICK-ASS's Avatar
    Computer Details
    KICK-ASS's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    32-bit Operating System
    Computer:
    Dell Vostro 1520 Laptop
    Motherboard:
    ...WTF?
    CPU:
    Not sure yet.
    RAM:
    2.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family; 812 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Not sure.
    Secondary Storage:
    Not sure.
    Monitor:
    I am using a laptop.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    KICK-ASS's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Student (9th grade)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Currently, I'm working on dimensioning parts and creating them with CAD.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Valencia, CA
    Posts
    29

    Default Desperately need help drawing/measuring 2d sprocket!!!!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi, I'm new to the Forums and this is my first thread. I have been assigned to draw an isometric and 2 dimensional view of a sprocket. It has to be to scale with the sprocket given to us. I can't figure out how to measure it, much less start it. My guess is to start with the center, but I can't even measure that. When I figure out how to post a picture, I will. What I can tell you so far is that all I am permitted to measure with is a 6" CEN-TECH Dial Caliper. Not sure of the name, but I can describe the center hole(s). The center looks like a gear with 6 (flat) teeth. Above that (I eyeballed the bottom of it at about 1/8 in. away from top of center) is a circle that my caliper reads at 0.276 in. in diameter. It has 14 teeth. Sorry for the long explanation, but I want to make sure the responses can be accurate as possible. When I get the pic, I'll post it. On this thread.

    THANKS SOOO MUCH!!!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You can attach an image (ex. - JPG or PNG) by first clicking on the Go Advanced button. At the next screen click on the Paper Clip icon. Browse to where your image is located on your computer, upload it to CADTutor then attach it to your post.

    So let me get this straight. You have been given an actual sprocket and told to take the measurements yourself then reproduce it in CAD? I don't know who your instructor is but I admire him/her already.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member KICK-ASS's Avatar
    Computer Details
    KICK-ASS's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    32-bit Operating System
    Computer:
    Dell Vostro 1520 Laptop
    Motherboard:
    ...WTF?
    CPU:
    Not sure yet.
    RAM:
    2.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family; 812 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Not sure.
    Secondary Storage:
    Not sure.
    Monitor:
    I am using a laptop.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    KICK-ASS's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Student (9th grade)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Currently, I'm working on dimensioning parts and creating them with CAD.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Valencia, CA
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I know. i just need to actually take the picture. I don't know how to use the integrated webcam on my laptop. And my teacher is the AutoCAD Drafting teacher at Valencia High School.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Star Ninth-grade AutoCAD assignment!

    Welcome to the forum. It sounds like you may be describing some sort of bike/motorcycle chain sprocket? But a pic would be best. If you can't take one, then try to Google sprocket pics to see what you can find. That's what I did to try to find a sprocket that looked smth like your brief description. While we wait, let me ask just a few more questions:

    How familiar are you with AutoCAD? From the assignment, I would think you must know a significant amount already.

    Do you already know how to draw in isometric?

    Do you know anything about drawing sprocket teeth?

    Do you know how to measure with dial calipers? Since you were able to measure a diameter, it sounds like you know at least a little. If not, a YouTube video link might be your best bet to get started there. You will mostly be measuring a lot of diameters, which should be very doable in this case.

    Will you be able to post your progress in the form of DWG files so that your work can be checked?

    By the way, it sounds pretty impressive to me that a ninth-grader is working on such an assignment. I'm sure folks here will be glad to help you learn as much as you can, so stick with it and don't lose heart.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  5. #5
    Full Member KICK-ASS's Avatar
    Computer Details
    KICK-ASS's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    32-bit Operating System
    Computer:
    Dell Vostro 1520 Laptop
    Motherboard:
    ...WTF?
    CPU:
    Not sure yet.
    RAM:
    2.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family; 812 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Not sure.
    Secondary Storage:
    Not sure.
    Monitor:
    I am using a laptop.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    KICK-ASS's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Student (9th grade)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Currently, I'm working on dimensioning parts and creating them with CAD.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Valencia, CA
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I'm pretty familiar with AutoCAD. I'm nearing the end of my Mechanical 2B semester. I can DEFINITELY draw in Iso. For the teeth, I tried something posted on another: Draw a circle, then make a smaller circle on the outer quadrant of the first, polar array, then trim. I did this, but because it was around the first circle, the outside dia was too small. I have the basics of measuring with the dial caliper. And I have been top student of my CAD classes since START of ninth grade (I don't mean to brag haha) and this is the FIRST time I'm having this much trouble with an assignment.

  6. #6
    Full Member KICK-ASS's Avatar
    Computer Details
    KICK-ASS's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    32-bit Operating System
    Computer:
    Dell Vostro 1520 Laptop
    Motherboard:
    ...WTF?
    CPU:
    Not sure yet.
    RAM:
    2.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family; 812 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Not sure.
    Secondary Storage:
    Not sure.
    Monitor:
    I am using a laptop.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    KICK-ASS's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Student (9th grade)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Currently, I'm working on dimensioning parts and creating them with CAD.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Valencia, CA
    Posts
    29

    Default

    How do I use the Dell Laptop Integrated Webcam?

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KICK-ASS View Post
    I'm pretty familiar with AutoCAD. I'm nearing the end of my Mechanical 2B semester. I can DEFINITELY draw in Iso. For the teeth, I tried something posted on another: Draw a circle, then make a smaller circle on the outer quadrant of the first, polar array, then trim. I did this, but because it was around the first circle, the outside dia was too small. I have the basics of measuring with the dial caliper. And I have been top student of my CAD classes since START of ninth grade (I don't mean to brag haha) and this is the FIRST time I'm having this much trouble with an assignment.
    Sounds like you ought to be able to get up and running fairly quickly with this. If you measure several of the concentric diameters and put them into a drawing, you would be well on your way. Can you measure and draw the following: Inside diameter (bore, center hole); Spline (out to out of the inner "teeth" or notches; there are 6, right?); Width of a spline notch; Outer diameter of the sprocket? How many of the 0.276 dia holes are there? Measure across for a reference diameter to those as well. I suggest just start putting something down for reference if for nothing else.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KICK-ASS View Post
    How do I use the Dell Laptop Integrated Webcam?
    Perhaps someone could help you with that here; but, if you just start drawing the parts of the sprocket you know how to measure and put other parts in as reference, e.g., fake a tooth or show what didn't work quite right, until you know how to do those correctly, it would only take you a few minutes. Then post your progress in a DWG and help could start flowing. Put a few dimensions on the drawing, as well, for comparison. I know you wouldn't do this for a final product, but to get started, you can override the dimension text where the drawing does not yet match your measurements. Just make them a different color (or something) to indicate they are hardcoded.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You don't need to use a webcam to create an image. A simple screen capture will do. What OS are you running?

    How to take a screen shot using Windows XP...

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...-a-screen-shot

    Another option would be to use a screen capture program such as Snagit...

    http://www.techsmith.com/snagit.html

    Is this by any chance a countershaft sprocket like this....

    http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com...-Sprocket.aspx
    Last edited by ReMark; 10th May 2013 at 11:01 am.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    ReMark: That's similar to what I was guessing (the smaller one in this more general pic): http://twostrokemotocross.com/wp-con...n-sprocket.jpg

    I think he's still needing to make an actual photo to get onto the computer first. If he has the image up on his screen via his webcam, then he could do a screen capture. Alternatively, he could use a cell phone with such capabilities, or a digital camera.

    If he has the part number, he or someone here might be able to find the right pic online.

    But, if he does not have much experience with any of that or help at home in doing it, then, as good as he seems to be at drawing in AutoCAD, he could just send a rough draft of what he needs to draw. In any case, from what I understand, he should be measuring the sprocket himself and make an AutoCAD drawing based on those dimensions.

    K-A: I've no doubt ReMark could practically draw this thing blind (he does that sort of thing a lot here). So, unless it is a direct part of your assignment, you don't really need to worry about an actual picture here. Just start putting down the rough idea as though you were sketching on a napkin. (Did I just say that?) Then explain what you know how to measure, what you don't know, what you know how to draw, what you don't know. You're evidently one of our best and brightest, so go for it! I suspect that once you get started it will come together very quickly.

    If nothing else, then perhaps you could roughly trace the thing on a piece of paper, add a few notes, then scan it into the computer.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

Similar Threads

  1. Measuring an existing drawing
    By l00k_uk in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 15th May 2012, 03:18 am
  2. Trimming problems need help desperately
    By hailiang in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Jul 2010, 04:45 pm
  3. help with sprocket please...
    By tds73 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th Oct 2009, 03:19 pm
  4. DESPERATELY Need Pen Plotter Help
    By ATKOgirl in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2008, 03:27 pm
  5. Help need for drawing a BMX sprocket- see picture
    By willsy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Sep 2005, 11:05 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts