Tool Palettes - Can't Add Blocks

Lee Roy

Ok, this has me very confused. I'm using AutoCAD MEP 2014 (though it's present in all variations).

I am using OOTB settings to eliminate network permissions as my issue.

I open my ACAD to an OOTB template file. Create a new tool palette, call it "CS" for now. When I try to add blocks to my palette, I get the black circle with a line through it. I get the same result when trying to add to existing OOTB palettes.

I am a network administrator and administrator on my machine, permissions shouldn't be the issue.

Checked my Options->Files and everything is pointing to the OOTB locations on my C: drive, nothing special.

The .dwg files are on my desktop, so there's no network sharing issue.

I tried going through Design Center (ADCENTER). I browsed to the folder containing the .dwg files, right-clicked and selected "Create Tool Palette" or something to that effect. It created an empty palette with no tools.

I've also tried inserting a block from another OOTB palette, no issue. Then whe trying to drag that block back to the tool palettes, it doesn't let me.

Toolbars/Panels are not locked, though I don't think that makes a difference.

Hmm...trying to think what else I've tried...I've Googled for a couple hours now, obviously with no luck.

Any other ideas?

Everything I listed up top. I keep trying each day, just cuz. I guess I'm just insane, doing the same thing but expecting different results. I really don't know what to do with it at this point.

• 3 years later...

I have the same problem with AutoCad Mechanical 2017, using my own profile derived from the vanilla profile.

When I first installed AutoCad I was able to use ADC to select drawings, RMB and "Create a Palette full of DB" and worked very nice.