+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 92
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default How to draw Cam lobe

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi everyone, when its come to autocad i'm a total noob. Thank to cadtutor.net and you guys i learn bits here and there. You guys are great sources when i have no where else to go. So i'm here today with this problem that have troubled me the past couple of days. I have included a picture of the drawing. I could draw the 45 radius Arc that goes from 0 degree to 90 degree. The other Arcs somehow i just can't. Hope you guys can help me on this

    Many thanks
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    Anyone able to help this member out? I tried but I always come up one arc off. Obviously I'm doing something wrong but I don't have the time to figure it out right now.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    easymike29's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WinXP
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Anyone able to help this member out? I tried but I always come up one arc off. Obviously I'm doing something wrong but I don't have the time to figure it out right now.
    I agree.

    Gene

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    I'm going to *bump* this thread as I see JDM is back from his extended vacation. It must have been final exam week at the University of PepsiCola.

    I'm willing to venture a guess he'll say it can be done using AutoCAD Inventor.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    AARi
    Guest

    Default

    0000000000
    Last edited by AARi; 20th Jun 2013 at 08:50 pm.

  6. #6
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Default

    This looked like an interesting exercise and having a little time on my hands I gave it a shot. I'm not an ME but would be curious how close I came to getting this correct.

    I started with the known center of the keyed hole and the 45R on the right. I then drew two circles, 61R and 80.6R respectively (red dashed circles) and just moved them using the quadrants and the centerlines of the keyed hole. Then I constructed the two lines which are 79° to each other, referenced to the 59° angular dimension given. I trimmed these red circles using the construction lines and then filleted the last part of it together using a radius of 47.3°. The ending cam shape I then joined as a polyline, it's shown in green. Like I said, I'd be interested to know if this is correct or not. I'm sure others may use different method to construct it. That's the nice thing about AutoCAD. There's always more than one way of doing something.
    Attached Files
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  7. #7
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I'm going to *bump* this thread as I see JDM is back from his extended vacation. It must have been final exam week at the University of PepsiCola.

    I'm willing to venture a guess he'll say it can be done using AutoCAD Inventor.
    Final exams I was with J.D. and ahhhhhhh yes it was final exams.
    If we had the cam profile along with the cam itself it's easy to create. But from what I know there's a lot of missing data to create it propery.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  8. #8
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Nothing from anyone else? Not even the OP? If anyone is interested I'll give it a shot and post the results.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  9. #9
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Prince George, Va.
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Murph_map View Post
    Nothing from anyone else? Not even the OP? If anyone is interested I'll give it a shot and post the results.
    i have been trying for the last 2 days off an on and i can not even come close with the information given. Wish i could look at Bill Tillmans drawing but LT 2000 will not open anything newer. Still going to work on it though.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If we assume all of the arcs are tangent and they stop/start at the angles given - there is one solution. (none of the arc centers are on any of the construction lines, but it is fully defined with the given dimensions) (BTW - solution was found in less than 10 minutes.)

    Tangent Arcs.PNG
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

Similar Threads

  1. How to draw this ?
    By elka in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th Jun 2011, 12:46 pm
  2. how to draw this.. pls help me..
    By chaarr in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2010, 08:18 am
  3. How do I draw this?
    By Mason Dixon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16th Jan 2010, 03:20 am
  4. How do I Draw this?
    By zetnie in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2008, 06:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts