+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Senior Member Bobzy20's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Bobzy20's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
    Computer:
    Advent T9509
    Motherboard:
    Foxconn G9657MA-8KS2H
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    RAM:
    8GB DDR2 PC2-5300
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX580 512MB
    Primary Storage:
    320GB SATA
    Secondary Storage:
    WD 1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Advent X19w 19" Monitor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Bobzy20's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Lighting Controls CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    395

    Default Trimming everything outside a closed Polyline

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is there a command or lisp that will allow you to select a closed polyline and trim everything outside of it even if the items are blocks that aren’t exploded?

    I’ve tried EXTRIM but that fails on blocks.
    Apparently Revit is the FUTURE but all I know is AutoCAD.

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    You cannot trim block insertions.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  3. #3
    Senior Member Bobzy20's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Bobzy20's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
    Computer:
    Advent T9509
    Motherboard:
    Foxconn G9657MA-8KS2H
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    RAM:
    8GB DDR2 PC2-5300
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX580 512MB
    Primary Storage:
    320GB SATA
    Secondary Storage:
    WD 1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Advent X19w 19" Monitor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Bobzy20's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Lighting Controls CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    395

    Default

    You can with the CookieCutter.lsp!
    Last edited by Bobzy20; 16th May 2013 at 05:11 pm.
    Apparently Revit is the FUTURE but all I know is AutoCAD.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Bobzy20's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Bobzy20's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
    Computer:
    Advent T9509
    Motherboard:
    Foxconn G9657MA-8KS2H
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    RAM:
    8GB DDR2 PC2-5300
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX580 512MB
    Primary Storage:
    320GB SATA
    Secondary Storage:
    WD 1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Advent X19w 19" Monitor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Bobzy20's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Lighting Controls CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    395

    Default

    I love answering my own questions.
    Apparently Revit is the FUTURE but all I know is AutoCAD.

  5. #5
    Senior Member cadvision's Avatar
    Computer Details
    cadvision's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    DELL inspiron
    CPU:
    i7-3632QM CPU @2.2GHz
    RAM:
    8GB
    Primary Storage:
    1TB
    Monitor:
    aoc 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    cadvision's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Software distributor, contract drafting/scanning
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Electro/Mechanical Drafty since Drawing Board. Mainly work in Petrochemical and Dairy Industries. Specialise in Maintenace, Process and I&E Drafting since 1980.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    202

    Default

    "cookiecutter" that is what I was going to suggest, think my old one was called "detail" or something like. I also have a delete all outside window lisp that could be modified

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobzy20 View Post
    I love answering my own questions.
    When you get through patting yourself on the back, have a look at more of this thread.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobzy20 View Post
    You can with the CookieCutter.lsp!
    You might want to really shine here by actually helping someone other than yourself. For example, you could give a link to the routine. Never mind. I did it myself. See below. Of course, feel free to give an updated or better link, if you have one.
    Last edited by neophoible; 17th May 2013 at 02:23 pm. Reason: added Never mind...
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neophoible View Post
    You cannot trim block insertions.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobzy20 View Post
    You can with the CookieCutter.lsp!
    No, you can't. Well, maybe sort of; but, no, not really. This is a great routine, but it does not leave the block insertion intact, that is, there is no block insertion left when it is done, at least not in the version I found. I suppose a routine could include a way of creating a new block after the trimming, perhaps an anonymous block; but AFAIK, no one has done this yet. It seems doable, though; and perhaps there is an update to the routine. If so, someone should post it here.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Here is a link to CookieCutter2 http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...tter2-v1.2.lsp . Note that Lee Mac flagged this as missing its original header, which cites the author. I don't know if this is the latest version or not. Perhaps someone can add to or verify concerning this.
    Last edited by neophoible; 17th May 2013 at 02:16 pm. Reason: Added the IDK portion
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    BTW, anyone searching for CookieCutter ought to be aware that this name has also been applied to ExTrim.lsp, but the OP is right that they are not the same thing in this case (or anymore, etc., depending on how you look at it).
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

Similar Threads

  1. Trimming Polyline 2013
    By Simple153 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Oct 2012, 04:30 pm
  2. Closed Vs Open Polyline
    By NirantarVidyarthee in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2012, 04:26 pm
  3. how to delete outside of a closed polyline?
    By cios106 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2012, 10:37 pm
  4. Area value from a closed polyline in to the clipboard?
    By tclaudiu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 28th Aug 2009, 10:04 am
  5. open/closed polyline
    By mossieramm in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2009, 02:35 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts