Scaling Down a 2D Drawing!

I am sorry to be asking but, i have a 2D drawing that is drawn if full scale, it is 26feet wide apprx. and 20 feet tall. I need to scale down to fit on a 4 X 8 for a mockup, i have tried using the scale command, but to no avail. I am sure it is something simple, but i am self taught for the most part and really need some help on this, as i have to turn out this mock-up within next day or so... Thanks to all, i have always gotten good help from everyone on here.:unsure:

Wouldn't it be easier to use a layout and a viewport then assign the scale to the viewport itself?

Did you try a scale factor of 0.2?

It would be except for the fact that i actually am putting this drawing (which is a carving) onto material and i need to scale it down to fit the mock-up size accordingly! If that makes any sense, so view-port doesn't help in this , as i need the scale down to make the g-code appropriately to the size of the mock-up. thank you.

Well unless you plan on using a different X/Y scale it isn't going to fit the 4x8 fully.

Just so we're clear you are going from 26x20 to 8x4 (horizontal distance is larger). Right?

Yes, it is 8ft. in horizontal. i used the scale and went to .33 and the part comes out to 102.875", but the height is not changing enough ( 78"), it is real close. i will keep working on it. What do you mean by using a different x/y scale? I will post the dwg of what i am doing and what i have done, maybe that will clarify.

We don't need to see the actual drawing. If you make a block of the larger rectangle and then insert it into the smaller rectangle and uncheck "scale uniformly" you can apply a different scale factor to both X and Y and the larger rectangle will fit perfectly within the confines of the smaller one.

ScaledRectangles.jpg

This is what I come up with. The rectangle on the far right has been inserted as a block and non-uniformly scaled. Perfect fit.