+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default Isometric Hatch?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Please see attached file. this is a scanned file and I want to draw it in autocad.
    the problem is I got stuck in the insulation. Is that a "Hatch" or "Array" command? if not please guide me step by step. thanks in advance
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    218

    Default

    That would be an angular array.

    Work in 3D. You'll need to draw one instance of the looped material (imagine the greek capital omega character) on a plane normal to the pipe axis to be used in an angular array within an enclosing donut. Add the other items then take a hiddenlineview off into paperspace and annotate.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    danellis's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1650
    Using
    Architecture 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    218

    Default

    Another way people show insulation is with the BATTING linetype. Draw a circle (in this case) along the centreline of where you want the insulation to be and set its linetype to BATTING. The thickness of the batting is controlled by the linetype scale (in metric the lts matches the overall thickness, I assume an imperial template would be the same).

    Although unlikely to be relevant in this specific instance this can produce more easily editted insulation.

    dJE

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thank you guys for the reply.

    Is it possible to draw this in isometric? personally i think this is drawn in isometric.

    i did try batting linetype, well it works in plan view. but did not work with isometric isocircle.

    any more idea? really thanks guys.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hello Hugha,

    I guess it is impossible to draw it in isometric snap. so Im trying it in 3d.
    what do you mean by "angular array" is that a command in 3d?

    i can only see. rectangular array, path array and polar array.

    thanks

  6. #6
    Senior Member mikekmx's Avatar
    Using
    Electrical 2008
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kengkoykolokoy View Post
    Hello Hugha,

    I guess it is impossible to draw it in isometric snap. so Im trying it in 3d.
    what do you mean by "angular array" is that a command in 3d?

    i can only see. rectangular array, path array and polar array.

    thanks

    ^^^ is what you want i think

    then i guess you may want to extrude the result so it is in 3d throughout the insulation....or not.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    218

    Default

    Sorry, yes, you want a polar array (blame my misfiring memory).

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hugha View Post
    That would be an angular array.

    Work in 3D. You'll need to draw one instance of the looped material (imagine the greek capital omega character) on a plane normal to the pipe axis to be used in an angular array within an enclosing donut. Add the other items then take a hiddenlineview off into paperspace and annotate.

    Thank you so much Mr. Hugha. I've finally done it.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    218

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No worries.

    Just for the record, I forgot to mention that a hatch can't be bent into a circle.

Similar Threads

  1. Hatch command to match existing hatch
    By Dan H in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th May 2013, 07:08 pm
  2. Existing Hatch used as Boundary for New Hatch
    By blatz.boy in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th May 2011, 02:50 pm
  3. Distorted hatch when copying hatch bounded by spline
    By gavindmc in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2010, 05:35 pm
  4. Printing PDFs / JPGs - hatch / super hatch errors
    By busseynova in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2010, 02:12 pm
  5. Hatch in isometric projection/drawing
    By whel_13 in forum Catch All
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th May 2003, 05:24 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts