+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    MEP 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default integrating Cadmep into a revit model?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all, i wonder if you can help/

    The company i am currently working for is well up to speed for using 3d co-ordination (produced to a level it can be fabricated) using Autodesk cadmep fabrication 2013. To date we, we have gotten by buy using the steelwork contractors 3d steelwork model and 2d architectural backrounds which are then inserted into drawings where required.

    More and more we see clients are asking us to integrate our model from fabrication into the revit model generally received from the architect. Having come up against a brick wall using cad 2013 & revit 2013, our software manager had it sold to him that the new 'Autodesk design suite 2014' package was able to fully interact the fab model with the revit model, but so far, to no avail... i fear we are about to lose this order due to the fact this was promised to the client off the back of the words of an autodesk sales rep.

    Can anyone help? Any advice is appreciated greatly.

    Chris

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,057

    Default

    You definitely hit a brick wall. *Sigh* Salesmen..... they get you every time.

    However, you can do a workaround since you got the Suite you're in luck. This workaround works pretty good actually. Open the models in AutoCAD MEP, then use the Export option to export out as an IFC File. When you open Revit, you can then import an IFC File, but here's the beauty - it will convert it to a native Revit file format and translates all the objects to static Generic Models, which can be used seamlessly with the way Revit handles Views (cutting, display overrides, etc) for coordination and visibility control.

    Give this a shot. Come back if you need more detailed assistance. Just remember, IFC is the file format that is interchangeable between information-rich 3D models. I've done this plenty of times and it works great. It's not "native" Revit objects that can be edited, but it's native enough for Revit to handle the objects in a static environment.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    MEP 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks so much for your reply, i shouldve mentioned at the time that the design suite software has only just been installed. the original drawing i have was drawn in fabrication 2013, when i open it in the new 2014 autodesk MEP (which looks a LOT different, by the way), then all of my 'fab items arent here (pipes, bends, valves etc.) the only thing that is showing up is the 3d building backround. Is there an add on i need to get for the new cad to show fab items?

    Thanks again for the reply, really helpful (if only i could get this damn thing to work!)

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,057

    Default

    See if you can export directly from Fabrication 2014. It should have IFC export capabilities.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Revit 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    See if you can export directly from Fabrication 2014. It should have IFC export capabilities.
    Hi folks try this technology preview from Autodesk's Labs to get CADmep into Revit.
    http://communities-stg.autodesk.com/...&minisite_id=5

    Regards,
    David

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Revit MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default IFC Export in CADmep

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    For IFC export directly from CADmep, right click on screen in CADmep, and from the menu select CADmep->Utilities->Export as IFC, or you can type in the command IFCE.

    Also, not many people know you can use the same menu to export PCF (or type in the command PCFEXPORT), and a PCF file is portable to/consumable by Plant3D for Isogen purposes.

Similar Threads

  1. Revit Model and 2d cad files
    By Nick-H- in forum Revit MEP
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 10th Dec 2012, 05:02 pm
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th Sep 2011, 08:06 pm
  3. CADmep, CADmech, CADduct
    By JOSHHYMEL in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Mar 2011, 05:31 pm
  4. CADmep Pipework Insulation
    By Jacko93 in forum MEP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2009, 05:22 pm
  5. Link Revit model into current revit model
    By miyuki_mll in forum Revit General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2009, 11:58 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts