+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member GTizzle's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    13

    Default Architectural desktop?!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Greetings all! new member to this site. pleased to meet you!

    I was recently hired at an engineering firm & deal with building inspections. My primary job is to get floor plans up to spec so they can meet state windstorm standards.
    [ sometimes having to redo on AutoCAD from a handdrawn plan.. yay! ]

    I've been hearing quite a bit of hype on architectural desktop & would be very much interested in getting my company to invest in it if it would make my job easier & quicker.

    Can anyone run through the Pros & Cons?

    Much appreciated!!

    -GT
    I'd rather be FAMOUS than popular


  2. #2
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default

    Sure..
    the pros..
    -fastest way to draw arch plans once your ADT is setup to your needs

    the cons
    -setting up ADT to your needs (a hassle at times)

    Contact your dealer, they should be able to send you an ADT demo.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    236

    Default

    "Forum Deity" - I like-a d'way dat sownd mon.
    Justin J. F. RamireZ - Drafter Extraordinaire
    Bryan/College Station, Tx

    REVIT MEP 2009, CAD MEP 2009, CAD LT '00 & '04, CAD 04

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    ATLANTA
    Posts
    79

    Default

    You may also wish to consider Revit Structure if productivity is your main goal. Once mastered it is roughly 20% faster than ADT. It is an Autodesk product, but the interface is completely different so it takes some training to learn.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TTALBOT
    You may also wish to consider Revit Structure if productivity is your main goal. Once mastered it is roughly 20% faster than ADT. It is an Autodesk product, but the interface is completely different so it takes some training to learn.
    True, there are also 3rd party add-ons that will add AEC functions to vanilla AutoCAD.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  6. #6
    Junior Member GTizzle's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    13

    Default

    awesome!

    I'll look into Revit, but kinda skeptical about having to go through the hassle of learning something entirely new?

    thanx a bunch tho! I hear Architectural's got a pretty colorful price tag, you think it'd be worth it? or is Revit also a lil less on the price scale?
    I'd rather be FAMOUS than popular


  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    ATLANTA
    Posts
    79

    Default

    They're both around the $5,000 range depending on where you get them.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default

    Look here as well....
    http://www.drcauto.com/products/smar...005/index.html

    Smart Architect for full and LT
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GTizzle
    awesome!

    I'll look into Revit, but kinda skeptical about having to go through the hassle of learning something entirely new?

    thanx a bunch tho! I hear Architectural's got a pretty colorful price tag, you think it'd be worth it? or is Revit also a lil less on the price scale?
    I was recently told at an AutoCAD 2007/Revit 9 presentation that ADT/ABS will be getting phased out over the next couple years and replaced by Revit and various Revit add-ons for electrical, hvac, plumbing, etc. ADT has no intelligence what so ever and I've found tons of bugs in it. I'd go with Revit.

  10. #10
    Junior Member GTizzle's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by echochamber
    I was recently told at an AutoCAD 2007/Revit 9 presentation that ADT/ABS will be getting phased out over the next couple years and replaced by Revit and various Revit add-ons for electrical, hvac, plumbing, etc. ADT has no intelligence what so ever and I've found tons of bugs in it. I'd go with Revit.
    hmmm.. Revit's that powerful of a software? sounds like a good deal.. although I focus more on the structural rather than the electrical, plumbing, et cetera.. but I'm sure my engineers will find that quite relieving

    thanx for the heads up everyone! I would never have known about that program.. I love this forum!
    I'd rather be FAMOUS than popular


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts