AutoCAD 2014

Bill Tillman

We just received the new CD for AutoCAD 2014, as per our annual subscription service. And it dawned on me I've never done an upgrade of AutoCAD before. So before I mess something up, I thought I'd check to see who has done an update from 2013 to 2014. Does 2013 need to be uninstalled first or will the 2014 CD update my existing 2013 version?

Delays, delays...the DVD will not work in this desktop because it only has a CD/ROM drive. The mobo, cpu and memory are new but the IT guys left me with some old hardware. Will have to resolve this later.

And another thing...the current 2013 version I have loaded on my computer is known as AutoCAD Design Suite. The DVD they sent to us appears AutoDesk AutoCAD 2014. Is there a difference between these releases. I know we paid extra last year to get the PDF to DWG and other modules that were included with Design Suite.

Edited by Bill Tillman

Does 2013 need to be uninstalled first or will the 2014 CD update my existing 2013 version?

Neither, By default, 2014 will install into a different directory and you can continue to run either or both, even both at the same time (because you're on Subscription)

And another thing...the current 2013 version I have loaded on my computer is known as AutoCAD Design Suite. The DVD they sent to us appears AutoDesk AutoCAD 2014. Is there a difference between these releases. I know we paid extra last year to get the PDF to DWG and other modules that were included with Design Suite.

Design Suite2013 to AutoCAD2014 doesn't sound right. Autodesk actually makes it pretty difficult to "downgrade" like that.