+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 59
  1. #21
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Looks like Rob's approach will be the best work-around me in most cases. Select approximately the qty needed in wide shot, then zoom in and add/delete to fine tune. Just seems like an unnecessary step and it doesn't solve the problem when more complex selection is needed.

    Thx

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Apparently you failed to read post #17 or you were unable to follow what I did. Bottom line: You can do it using the aerial viewer. You should also use the settings I posted as well for PICKFIRST, etc.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    Actually, there's not an easy solution, Autodesk Knowledge Base --> Objects are lost from selection set
    It seems that there is an easy solution that depends on technique of selecting.

    Knowledge Base
    Objects are lost from selection set
    Issue
    You started to create a selection set of objects using a window or crossing selection, and then you panned or zoomed to select more objects. Objects that were no longer displayed on the screen were dropped from the selection set.
    Solution
    To prevent objects from disappearing from the selection set, you should complete your selection of objects in view before you pan or zoom to a different part of the drawing.

  4. #24
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    "To prevent objects from disappearing from the selection set, you should complete your selection of objects in view before you pan or zoom to a different part of the drawing."

    That was basically proven in the test I conducted and referenced earlier. I think the OP is just choosing to ignore my advice.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #25
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    That's not exactly and "easy" solution if there are a lot of objects in a very busy drawing. In OP's particular situation, it "could" literally require all 100 objects to be selected/windowed individually. As I mentioned earlier, QuickSelect allows for filtering of individual objects within a broader selection set.

    (If anyone thinks the "100" comment is an exageration, I'll gladly post a drawing with a series of objects that cannot be selected without either picking them individually, or windowing them individually.)

  6. #26
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Now I think you are just going out of your way to make a point. The solution for the OP is as easy as stated by eldon and backed up by my real world test. Now if the OP has 100 objects scattered hither and yon then I might agree with you but he doesn't.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #27
    Super Member PotGuy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    PotGuy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Premium
    Discipline
    Civil
    PotGuy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Temporary Works
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    (Trainee) CAD Techie/Draftsman
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    728

    Default

    You could use the filter function, apply the appropriate settings and select all, then apply.
    Or have I missed the point?
    This space changes a lot. Normally dependant on mood.
    Smilies are abundant in my posts.
    There's no crying in CAD but there sure is a lot of whining not to mention gnashing of teeth, pulling of hair and cursing - ReMark
    There is no crying in CAD. Only mouse slamming and keyboard smashing - RobDraw

  8. #28
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    We all know that AutoCAD has a wide variety of ways to select objects. So many that the user usually has a choice for any given situation. Those situations can come in an infinite variety of flavors. Just because someone chooses one method over another does not mean they are ignoring a particular option, it may be because it requires a lot of work compared to others for the given situation. Personally, if my solution worked, I don't see why rkent's didn't. That would be the quickest. Requiring the fewest, clicks.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #29
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Now I think you are just going out of your way to make a point. The solution for the OP is as easy as stated by eldon and backed up by my real world test. Now if the OP has 100 objects scattered hither and yon then I might agree with you but he doesn't.
    I'm making a point because I don't believe there's anything "easy" about using the methods described by you or eldon, (or in the Autodesk link I provided) to solve the OP's problem.

    Here's a drawing (2000 format) with just 10 steel columns and nothing else. How would you all select just the I-beams to change their color or layer?


    Filtering... yes, and I already suggested using Quick Select in my first reply. Windowing/Zooming/DSViewer..... someone is going to have to demonstrate those to me because I doubt those would be efficient techniques in this drawing, much less a drawing with 100 columns.
    Attached Files

  10. #30
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I think you misunderstood the OP.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dall View Post
    If I have a long column (100) of blocks on, say, 1" centers.
    My interpretation was that there are 100 blocks in one column or am I misunderstanding it?
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. Zoom extents and Zoom Windows
    By FELIXJM in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Sep 2012, 03:53 am
  2. zoom extends doesn't zoom completely (hidden objects issue)
    By khoshravan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2011, 06:21 am
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2010, 01:56 pm
  4. Strange bug: Scroll mouse zoom out or ZOOM OUT
    By Martin Carmona in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th Dec 2007, 11:42 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts