+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default Custom Hatch with Random Line Spacing

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Trying to create a custom hatch pattern that is just simple random spaced lines. What do we have to do to the y-offset to create the look of multiple randomly spaced lines?
    Preferably, lines spaced 6",9",12",4"

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    What kind of hatch pattern are you trying to create? Maybe someone has already done the hard work.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Just a simple continuous line .pat for AutoCAD with random spacing.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    OK...just to confirm, we are talking about a hatch pattern right?

    Your description sounds like a pattern that I've seen used in the hydrogeology field for either a type of rock or soil. Have you tried an Internet search for free hatch patterns?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Yes, a hatch pattern..

    I was looking to just modify a .pat like Line into something randomly spaced that could be interpreted as random wood slats

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    I would do a search for wood or wood flooring hatch patterns first.

    Here is an example...http://www.cadhatch.com/#/autocad-wo...rns/4555347745

    One other example of free hatch patterns...http://www.cadcorner.ca/hatch.php

    The "master" of custom hatch patterns was a guy named Watson Kilbourne of Compugraphx who used to submit them to Cadalyst magazine. The guy was absolutely amazing. You can try a search using his name and the words "hatch patterns" and see what comes up.
    Last edited by ReMark; 12th Jul 2013 at 12:06 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    I did a line routine for doing predefined lines as a repeating pattern within a pline you could make it use a random number so lines are at different spacing it would be lines not a hatch search here BIGAL + Chevron
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Here's a 200 unit high pattern with horizontal lines randomly split between 2 and 12 units apart:

    *RANDOMHORIZONTAL2-12,200 units with lines spaced between 2 and 12 apart
    ;-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ; Pattern written by HatchKit v2.7 Hatch Pattern Editor
    ; HatchKit v2.7 Hatch Pattern Editor(c) Cadro Pty Ltd 1990-2013.
    ; www.hatchkit.com.au
    ;-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ;-Comment =CadTutor
    ;-Template=NEW,
    ;-Source =C:\Users\hugh\Desktop\RANDOMHORIZONTAL2-12.PAT
    ;-Date =12/07/2013
    ;-Time =9:43:30 PM
    ;-HatchKitVersion=2.7.1.1995
    ;-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    0,0,195,0,200
    0,0,189,0,200
    0,0,180,0,200
    0,0,172,0,200
    0,0,163,0,200
    0,0,152,0,200
    0,0,140,0,200
    0,0,132,0,200
    0,0,124,0,200
    0,0,117,0,200
    0,0,111,0,200
    0,0,108,0,200
    0,0,101,0,200
    0,0,96,0,200
    0,0,90,0,200
    0,0,84,0,200
    0,0,78,0,200
    0,0,73,0,200
    0,0,71,0,200
    0,0,63,0,200
    0,0,54,0,200
    0,0,43,0,200
    0,0,39,0,200
    0,0,36,0,200
    0,0,28,0,200
    0,0,20,0,200
    0,0,11,0,200
    0,0,8,0,200
    0,0,0,0,200

    If you need a taller portion to avoid repetition you can extend beyond 200 to any repletion height by changing the last 200 on each line to a larger value and adding further lines.
    To obtain vertical lines, rotate 90 degrees.
    HTH

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    That's pretty generous of you Huga but did you notice the OP is using imperial units specifically inches? Just thought I'd point that out. No offense meant.

    Could you tell him how to edit the pattern definition file to reflect that?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    That's pretty generous of you Huga but did you notice the OP is using imperial units specifically inches? Just thought I'd point that out. No offense meant.

    Could you tell him how to edit the pattern definition file to reflect that?
    No editing is required at all.

    The pattern is in fact expressed in inches and will produce lines "randomly" spaced between 2" and 12" apart when used in a drawing with units set to inches.
    OTOH when used in an ISO drawing where units are set to mm then the pattern will be taken as being defined in mm.

    AutoCAD's like that, you can elect to use a wide range of units to suit your purpose and the hatch patterns scales will follow your selection.
    Revit is a bit different in expecting hatch pattern definitions to be supplied as INCHES or MM and converting internally to the full-scale size on loading.

    No offense taken, remark, we're all here to help.

    Hugh Adamson
    Cadro Pty Ltd
    www.hatchkit.com.au

Similar Threads

  1. Line spacing for TEXT
    By darrellk-1 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2010, 08:29 pm
  2. Custom Line Type Spacing
    By Proctor in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st May 2010, 06:16 pm
  3. Text Line Spacing
    By ankers in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Aug 2009, 02:33 pm
  4. Random Stone Hatch
    By Simple153 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2009, 02:02 am
  5. MText line spacing
    By Alan Cullen in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th Oct 2006, 10:24 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts