+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    40

    Default Best Autocad Package for Drawing Buildings

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It's another newbie question from myself I'm afraid.

    Through work I have access to a few Autocad packages - Autocad 2006 (which I tend to use as I work with 2D and am familiar with the layout), Autocad 2010, Revit MEP 2012 & Civils 3D 2012.

    As above I do 2D stuff regularly and am good enough at it, however I'm looking to broaden my horizons and do some 3D stuff. One of my regular jobs is doing layouts of substations. Standard brick buildings (which will be done by the civils dept) which we then populate with transformers/switchboards/battery chargers/dist boards etc.

    I'm going to use a project we worked on a couple of years back as a basis and attempt to draw the substation - complete with the electrical equipment, cable ducts and maybe some HVAC - in 3D.

    The building is single story although it will have a suspended floor (they'll be electrical cables and traywork underneath) and a suspended ceiling (concealing the HVAC ductwork).

    My initial question is which is the best software package to use? I want to get used to BIM aswell, although as i understand it all dwgs can be brought together using a BIM package.

    They'll be plenty more questions I'm sure.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Revit 2014 hands down is the best application for building design and BIM. Anything DWG based just doesn't cut it anymore, and AutoCAD is a dying application for the AEC engineering industry in my opinion.

    Link: http://www.autodesk.com/products/aut...amily/overview
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,536

    Default

    Just get the Building Design Suite Premium. With it you get AutoCAD, AutoCAD Arch, MEP, Structural, 3D Max and Revit. With this you can use your dwgs while preparing to go the BIM route.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    Revit 2014 hands down is the best application for building design and BIM. Anything DWG based just doesn't cut it anymore, and AutoCAD is a dying application for the AEC engineering industry in my opinion.

    Link: http://www.autodesk.com/products/aut...amily/overview
    Cheers, I shall have a play around.

    Being used to layers and blocks it'll take some getting used to. It also feels a bit (for want of a better word) easy to draw walls - almost as if it's too easy to be accurate.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    Just get the Building Design Suite Premium. With it you get AutoCAD, AutoCAD Arch, MEP, Structural, 3D Max and Revit. With this you can use your dwgs while preparing to go the BIM route.
    I have most of those packages separately spread between 2010-2014 - I assume that I'd be able to use them in conjunction with one another rather than having to purchase a complete package?

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SAA84 View Post
    Being used to layers and blocks it'll take some getting used to.
    This is true, but it's a good transition. Welcome to the parametric world of CAD.

    Quote Originally Posted by SAA84 View Post
    It also feels a bit (for want of a better word) easy to draw walls - almost as if it's too easy to be accurate.
    It is so easy it's laughable when compared to AutoCAD. But it's accurate.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,536

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by SAA84 View Post
    I have most of those packages separately spread between 2010-2014 - I assume that I'd be able to use them in conjunction with one another rather than having to purchase a complete package?
    You should contact your reseller as you get a better deal in a suite.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD Architecture Designed Buildings
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th Oct 2009, 11:50 pm
  2. weld symbols in the drawing package
    By brandonlukert in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2009, 02:56 pm
  3. Reading new files in old autocad package
    By autosurfer in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Jan 2006, 12:55 pm
  4. AutoCAD as part of an induction package.
    By Lee in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2006, 07:37 pm
  5. Which Autocad package to buy?
    By ghnisse in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th May 2004, 06:14 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts