+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    Super Member PotGuy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    PotGuy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Premium
    Discipline
    Civil
    PotGuy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Temporary Works
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    (Trainee) CAD Techie/Draftsman
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    728

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Vagulus View Post
    I am sorry, but I cannot see any answers that are useful to me. One of the things they hammered into me at university is that you cannot provide a comprehensible explanation of jargon using the same jargon. That is what is happening here. I assume that you know what they are talking about. That is a massive advantage over someone who has no idea what they are talking about.

    Take, for example the use of the terms VP, xref, and VISRETAIN. You've lost me in three quick moves. (I did enter VISRETAIN at the command line and it shows a value of 1.)

    I note that the first post at that link includes the line, "If my understanding of this feature is correct, it has never worked as advertised."
    I hope that is not the epitaph for the button.

    VP stands for ViewPort. This is used when you want to generate a view of what you have drawn/modelled in the Model tab. (Also known as Model space) A ViewPort is only used in the Layout(s) tab(s). Command - Mview

    An XREF is used when, for example, you have survey data drawn in another CAD file that's drawn to real world coordinates and you wish to bring it into your drawing and overlay your work on top of it. Command - Xref --> Right click in the new tab that's opened up and select one of the options that's relevant. Then, Find the file and select OK --> You'll get a screen previewing the XREF with a few options on it enabling basic enter data (In my case I seldom scale an XREF or edit the coordinates where it's being inserted - May or may not apply to you depending upon your work) --> OK. If you don't see what you have added, type in ZE and hit Enter (The big button on your keyboard that has a little bit that sticks out to the left at the top!) or double click the middle mouse button. If it zooms out really far and you can't see what you've drawn or what you've inserted, then look carefully on your screen for two pixels!

    Sorry if this sounds patronising, but I'm aiming to be as clear as possible.
    This space changes a lot. Normally dependant on mood.
    Smilies are abundant in my posts.
    There's no crying in CAD but there sure is a lot of whining not to mention gnashing of teeth, pulling of hair and cursing - ReMark
    There is no crying in CAD. Only mouse slamming and keyboard smashing - RobDraw

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,358

    Default

    It's always advisable to learn and use the "jargon". One way to learn it is to use the F1 key (i.e. - Help) as it is right there at your fingertips. Seek and ye shall find.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PotGuy View Post
    ....

    An XREF is used when, for example, you have survey data drawn in another CAD file that's drawn to real world coordinates and you wish to bring it into your drawing and overlay your work on top of it. Command - Xref --> Right click in the new tab that's opened up and select one of the options that's relevant. Then, Find the file and select OK --> You'll get a screen previewing the XREF with a few options on it enabling basic enter data (In my case I seldom scale an XREF or edit the coordinates where it's being inserted - May or may not apply to you depending upon your work) -->

    ...but I'm aiming to be as clear as possible.
    That is a lot of words to say xref = external reference
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  4. #24
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    616

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    This is easy if you push the frozen button your ass will instantly be frozen to your chair until the job has reached an acceptable level of completion for that day or has been completed to its fullest. In the early days of autocad managers pleaded with Autodesk to come up with some way of keeping drafters in front of their workstations. They were constantly getting up to go to the bathroom, get coffee or go outside to smoke. You can't change the setting since it's a system level command and global as well.

Similar Threads

  1. "Hidden" line turns to "continuous" in layout view
    By jeck in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 29th Mar 2015, 03:36 am
  2. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2014, 07:04 am
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2012, 05:33 am
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2009, 06:35 pm
  5. Frozen "defpoint layer"
    By Detailkim in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd Apr 2008, 02:11 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts