viewing scale and dimensions

savagecreature

I'm very new to CAD so please be gentle with me. :D

I'm going to ask two questions at once, I hope that's acceptable.

I've got .dxf files of parts that need to be manufactured, however in this instance I need to manufacture 3/4 scale versions of these parts. So far I've been simply printing the plans and using my trusty calculator to change the scale of the dimensions.

But now I've got a couple of pages in this set of plans that have over a thousand dimensions on them. It would be really cool if I could just open a dialog or enter a command and have all the dimension on the page multiplied by a scaler so I can print the plans with the correct dimensions on them.

Scaling the model has been suggested. I assume that when you scale a model that the dimensions automatically update. However, I have no idea if these .dxfs contain model information or just 2D plan data and I don't know how to check.

The second question of my post is only; Is there a way to view the actual size of the plans in auto cad? Sort of a "Display actual size" button?

Thanks. I'm sure I'll be hanging around here a fair bit now. :)

Ok, Hi and this is a simple solve. DO NOT SCALE THE MODEL!!!

First of all let's findout if you are using Modelspace or Layout?

If you are using Modelspace..

As long as all of the dimensions you want to change are on the same layer, apply these commands.

type: LAYISO

SELECT one or 2 dimensions you wish to change. This wil isolate only the dimensions.

type: _dimstyle

a dialog box will appear. Select modify from the buttons.

Another dialog box will come up. Go to the MODIFY tab. Choose the FIT tab.

Go down to use overall scale. If this value is set to 1, then make it 0.75. This will reduce them by 25%.

If you are using Layout set the radio button to SCALE DIMENSIONS TO LAYOUT. If this does not work, check your viewport scales.

Enjoy..:-P