+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member mikekmx's Avatar
    Using
    Electrical 2008
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    445

    Default PS - view '100%'

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi

    there must be a quick way (/)... or at least a way:

    like in Excel & Word & many other progs, when in PS i'd like my view to be at 100%....so if i plotted, my (eg) PS titleblock would be the same size on paper as on the monitor.

    P.S. i fully admit i looked in AutoCAD help for about 30secs, then posted here

  2. #2
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikekmx View Post
    ...like in Excel & Word... ... same size on paper as on the monitor.
    I am curious - I want to know how to have Word print the same size on paper as on the monitor? (I have never ever had the need for this - but as I stated - curious.)

    I always print paperspace at 100%, but that isn't necessarily the same size it displays on the monitor?

    Can you attach a sample file here to illustrate your problem?
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,357

    Default

    I don't see the point of printing something at the same size as it is on one's monitor. Please cite three examples.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    I would say I don't see a need for this either, however to sync the sizes, simply divide the length of a sheet of paper by the length of the "paper" on the monitor (use a ruler) then ZOOM by the dividend while in PaperSpace.


    ...or buy an Asus monitor with QuickFit grid

  5. #5
    Senior Member mikekmx's Avatar
    Using
    Electrical 2008
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    445

    Default

    sorry, i didn't expalin very well...

    in PS, what i'd like to do is 'click' and zoom my view to 100% (or 1:1) so it's the same size as it will be on paper.

    the reason: at pesent i plot to PDF then view 100%, to check things are legible, check the vp scale is suitable etc. Being able to do this in AutoCAD would save some time.

    i try to set things up so my drawings are best plotted at A1 but are still legible if plotted at A3 size, but what tends to happen is they are too big on A1. i want to be able to check as i go along and with less effort.


    just bought a new HP 23" monitor, so the Asus is not an option

  6. #6
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    As far as I know, AutoCAD does not have a way to do that without the calculation that nestly mentioned. For your needs, I would think a close approximation would be good enough. Even with "Lineweights" turned on, what you see on the screen is not going to be exactly as it is going to appear on paper. PDFs viewed at 100% do not even do that. Most of the time they are close but I've seen some major differences between what a PDF shows on the monitor, especially when zoomed in, and what the printed PDF looks like.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikekmx View Post
    ...to check things are legible....
    .... but are still legible if ....
    Text size (printed) should be the same on any size plot.
    For the geometry it should be obvious of sheet size/view scale that is needed.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

Similar Threads

  1. Model Space View to match Viewport View
    By Bobzy20 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th May 2013, 11:24 am
  2. Can visual styles work like model view, but in plan view?
    By Cad Monkey 2 in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2011, 02:03 am
  3. View Isometric 3D and Its 2D Views( Top, Elevation and front View) !!
    By basiony in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2010, 04:22 pm
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2010, 03:15 am
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th Aug 2009, 03:59 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts